Second Round Of Free Waste Tire Disposal Events Set Saturday

State Senator Patty Ritchie is once again teaming with Oswego and St. Lawrence counties to host another round of free waste tire disposal events for residents this Saturday (May 9), from 8 a.m. to noon.

The usual disposal fees will be waived for residents of the two counties only for these one-day events, which are part of ongoing effort by Senator Ritchie and local community leaders to clean up backyards and area roadsides, and deny breeding areas for mosquitoes that could spread disease, including Eastern Equine Encephalitis.

Nearly 20,000 waste tires have been removed as a result of previous events over two years.

The disposal events are funded through special grants that Senator Ritchie secured in the State Budget to help “Fight the Bite” and prevent EEE and other mosquito-borne diseases.

“Waste tires in our environment, in ditches and backyards are not only unsightly, they contribute to the spread of diseases like EEE, because they can serve as breeding grounds for millions upon millions of the potentially disease-carrying bugs,” Ritchie said. “As more people learn about the risk, I’m hopeful that they will pitch in to remove even more waste tires, eliminate breeding areas and help make Central and Northern New York even more beautiful.”

Oswego and St. Lawrence county residents may dispose of up to eight tires at their local events.

In Oswego County, tractor tires are accepted only if cut into quarters. Tractor tires are not accepted at the free disposal events in St. Lawrence County.

The free disposal events, which are being held from 8 a.m. to noon in conjunction with the counties’ public works officials, will take place at the following locations:

Oswego County:

Bristol Hill Landfill, 3125 NYS Route 3
Hannibal Transfer Station, 1167 County Route 7
Hastings Transfer Station, 1391 US Route 11
Pulaski Transfer Station, 100 County Route 2A
Oswego Transfer Station, 700 E. Seneca St.

St. Lawrence County:

Gouverneur Transfer Station, located at 1831 State Highway 11
Ogdensburg Transfer Station, located at 522 County Route 28A

Plans are under way for a similar event for Jefferson County residents later this year.