Sheppard Sets Track Record At Brewerton

By Dave Medler

Matt Sheppard out of Waterloo, NY served notice during his heat race he was going to be a force on Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway. In his heat Sheppard ran a lap of 14.117 for a new Big Block Modified Track Record. In the feature, Sheppard blasted around race leader Tom Sears on a lap-13 restart to take command of the race. From there Sheppard dominated the rest of the way despite brake problems that were throwing spark showers all the way to the checkers. The 35-lap win pocketed Sheppard $2,000 behind the wheel of the Xtreme Lubricants No. 9s.

Other Winners on K-Rock/Reymore Chevy Store/Waterfront/Calypso Cay/Family Autograph/Military Appreciation Night were Kevan Cook in the 20-lap Xtreme Auto Recovery IMCA Modifieds, Doug Williams in the 20-lap Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites, Claude Hutchings Jr. in the 15-lap Tired Iron Repair 4-Cylinder Super Stocks, and Bruce Unger took another win in the Gladiators.

Larry Wight out raced the field to lead the opening lap of the Big Block Modified Feature as Tom Sears Jr. tried to keep pace.With 5-laps in the books Wight and Sears ran alone out front as Chuck Bower, Ryan Phelps and Kevin Bates raced in the top-five.

The first yellow would fly on lap-6 for a slowing Chad Phelps who headed pit-side for repairs. Sears would blast around Wight to be the new leader on lap-ten. Sheppard who started 11th was making his way forward running in the fourth spot.

Larry Wight who was running in the top-five suddenly slowed on lap-13 for clay in his right rear and other damage. Wight would return and finish twelfth. On the restart Sheppard looked like he was shot out of a cannon as he drove by Sears to be scored the new leader.

At the halfway point Sheppard led by ten car lengths, Sears, Bower, Jim Witko and Ryan Phelps tried to chase down the leader. With ten to go and his rear brakes glowing red hot, Sheppard led by a full straightaway. Sears, Bower, Witko and Ryan Phelps still showed in the top-five.

Over the final laps and his brakes not only glowing, but showing severe sparks, Sheppard was able to hold on for the win. Tom Sears Jr., Jim Witko Jr., Pat Ward and Chuck Bower rounded out the top-five.

“This car has been fast the last couple times out, we knew what the track was going to be tonight so we made a couple changes,” related Sheppard after exiting his Xtreme Lubricants No.9s Bicknell. “I don’t know what the deal is, we had the same problem (brakes) at Fulton the other night. I was using a lot of brakes tonight because there was so much straightaway speed and I was trying to run the bottom and overheated them, I don’t know what the deal was.”

Kevan Cook grabbed the lead on lap-7 from Evenden in the 20-lap IMCA Modified Feature. Cook would then have to hold off a tough Tony Buffa Jr for his ninth win of the 2009 season. Finishing behind Cook and Buffa was, Jerry Beck, J.J. Courcy and Brian Evenden.

Ricky Yelle grabbed the initial lead in the 20-lap Mod Lite Feature as Lowell Zehr was right there putting pressure on the leader. On lap-2 the yellow would fly as card would stack up in turn one. Front runners Tim Devendorf, Doug Williams and Justin Crisafulli were all involved and would be factors in the race.

One lap later Dave Trytek would catch a implement tire in turn one and roll onto his roof. Trytek was okay, but his car was done for the night. Lowell Zehr would grab the top spot on lap-5 to be scored the new leader. Zehr would lead till lap-10 when John Behron wrestled the lead away from Zehr. Behron would lead for only one lap as Gary Jeffries would grab a narrow lead of the race. As Jeffries and Behron ran side by side down the back straight the pair made contact slowing both cars. That left an opening for Zehr to blast back into the lead.

As the laps clicked off Doug Williams was coming through the pack to set up an exciting finish. With the white flag in the air Zehr and Williams ran side by side the whole lap setting up a photo finish as the pair went under the checkers. AMB scoring showed Williams the winner for the fifth time in 2009. Lowell Zehr, Andrew Schartner, John Behron and Justin Crisafulli rounded out the top-five.

Claude Hutchings Jr took the lead from Chuck Powelczyk on lap-8 of the 15-lap Tired Iron Repair Feature. Once in the lead Hutchings cruised to his eighth win of the year. Powelczyk, Randy Knight, Stephen Denton and Lorraine Powelczyk completed the top-five.

Bruce Unger once again put his No.711 in victory lane in the Gladiators. Josh Herbert, Jerry Herbert, Art Dupra and Chris Bonoffski chased Unger across the line.

Next Friday Night August 7 the Big Block Modified Super DIRTcar Series will be in town for the Summit Motors 100 lap event. Also on the race card will be the Empire State IMCA Modified Series, ESDCA Mod Lites Championship and 4-Cylinder Super Stocks. Pit gates will open at 5:00p.m, grandstands at 5:30p.m and time is set for 7:30p.m.

For more information please go on line to The track office number is 315-668-6906 with the race line reached at 668-RACE. Free parking and overnight camping will be offered. Children nine years of age and under will be admitted free of charge.


RACE DATE: JULY 31, 2009

(DIRTcar Modifieds 35-laps) – MATT SHEPPARD, Tom Sears Jr., Jim Witko Jr., Pat Ward, Chuck Bower, Alan Johnson, Billy Decker, Ryan Phelps, Kevin Bates, Jeff Brownell Jr., Pat O’Brien, Larry Wight, Rob Hile, Chad Phelps, Adam Smith, Roy Shields, Mike Johnson, Mike Bowman, Vinnie Vitale, Jimmy Phelps, Mike Holmes. DNS Johnny Hill.

(Xtreme Auto Recovery IMCA Modifieds 20-laps) – KEVAN COOK, Tony Buffa Jr., Jerry Beck, J.J Courcy, Brian Evenden, Rob Keller Jr., Ken Rogers, Calvin Painter, Bill Anderson, Pete Anderson, Dave Talbot, Les Hubbard, Jeff Amidon, Becca Eastman, Mike Jones, Tony Finch, Brandon Carvey, Jason Amidon. DNS – Coleen Finch.

(Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites 20-laps) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Lowell Zehr, Andrew Schartner, John Behron, Justin Crisafulli, Clayton Brewer III, Tim Devendorf, Frank Sobotka, Nick Graziano, Ricky Yelle, Rick Donovan, Mike Mullen, Terry Lapham, Jim Tuttle, Matt Magner, Sam Usborne, Bruce Ackley, Rocco Leone, Scott Ford, Mike Bruce, Bruce Broedel, Gary Jeffries, Lisa Thomas, Tim Forrest, Jeff Blackburn, Kelly Skinner, Dave Trytex, Tim Sears Jr., Jason Broedel.

(Tired Iron Repair 4-Cylinder Super Stocks 15-laps) – CLAUDE HUTCHINGS Jr., Chuck Powelczyk, Randy Knight, Stephen Denton, Lorraine Powelczyk, Ethan Halsey, Jessica Herbert, Keith Shay, Doug O’Hara, Sam Carista, Jerry Curcie Jr., Sam Curcie, Bill Carista, Wendall Washington, Matt Fay, Matt Wetterer, Aron Backus. DNS – John Goldman.

(Gladiators) – BRUCE UNGER, Josh Herbert, Jerry Herbert, Art Dupra, Chris Bonoffski.