Sheriff’s Office Receives Homeland Security Grant

OSWEGO – The Oswego County Sheriff’s Office has received a federal grant of $107,558 to be used by local and state law enforcement agencies in support of U.S. Border Patrol activities.

The funds were awarded through the U.S. Office of Homeland Security’s Operation Stonegarden.

“Operation Stonegarden is a federal grant program administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Department of Homeland Security,” said Oswego County Sheriff Reuel Todd. “This operation  provides funding to state and local law enforcement agencies to work with the Border Patrol to enhance security along the United States land and water borders.”

The Oswego Border Patrol Station covers 36.5 miles of international border with Canada on Lake Ontario.

Its shoreline consists of farmland, forested areas, open and wooded land.

The Oswego station also covers over 5,299 square miles of Central New York State, south of the U.S./Canadian border.

The Oswego County Legislature recently approved Sheriff’ Todd’s proposal to distribute Operation Stonegarden funds among the NY State Police, NYS Parks Police, and several local police agencies.

The grant will pay for overtime salaries, benefits, and equipment, including a license plate reader and all-terrain vehicle and trailer.

The grant program continues through August 2018.

“The purpose of the grant is to enhance cooperation and coordination between federal, state, local and tribal law enforcement agencies in joint operations along the Canadian border,” said Legislator Linda Lockwood, chairwoman of the Legislature’s Public Safety Committee. “The Sheriff’s Office works closely with local Border Patrol agents to prioritize equipment and personnel needs. These funds help local and state police agencies and provide them with the resources they need to keep our citizens safe.”

In addition to Legislator Lockwood (District 11, Volney), members of the Public Safety Committee include Margaret Kastler (District 1, Sandy Creek), vice chairwoman; Frank Castiglia (District 25, Fulton);  James Karasek (District 22, Granby); Richard Kline (District 12, Pennellville); Jacob Mulcahey (District 15, Oswego); and Milferd Potter (District 2, Richland).