Snowflake Spectacular Scheduled Saturday

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego High School Visual Ensemble will host the annual Snowflake Spectacular this Saturday evening at Powers Gym at the Frederick Leighton Elementary School.

Competition commences at 5:05 p.m. as 10 winter guards will compete.

The Oswego High School Visual Ensemble
The Oswego High School Visual Ensemble

Baldwinsville will begin the program followed by Pine Grove, Liverpool Cadet, Baldwinsville Jayvee, Liverpool Jayvee, Westmoreland, Jordan-Elbridge, Oswego, Baldwinsville Varsity and Liverpool Varsity.

Tickets will be available at the door the evening of the show.

The Oswego High School Visual Ensemble took home another first place award on February 23 at ESM High School.

Competing in the Scholastic A-2 division, Oswego scored a 64.86 to capture first place.

New Hartford High School was in second place with a score of 63.43 and APW was in third place with a score of 59.75.

The guard, which is led on the floor by seniors Carly Hewitt, Deanna Santiago, and Liz Westcott, had previously earned first place at shows in Mexico and Liverpool to begin the 2013 season in the Mid-York Color Guard Circuit.

The 2013 show, ‘A New World,’ features the music of Bjork.

According to winter guard director Mike Tierney, there are several reasons for the group’s competitive success.

“Everything has come together so nicely for us this season. The 23 students in the group
are not only talented, but very driven to succeed. We receive tremendous support from the Oswego High School Band Parents Association, and our guard parents are very supportive of these students and the winter guard activity,” he said.

Oswego has three competitions remaining this season.

They will host and compete in the annual Snowflake Spectacular at Leighton Elementary.

The competition will begin at 5 p.m. and admission is $6.

The guard will finish the competitive season at North Syracuse on March 23 and then participate in the Mid-York Color Guard Circuit Championships on April 7.

Members of the 2013 Oswego Visual Ensemble are Myranda Arnesen, Mikaela Barber, Emily Bradshaw, Katie Bradshaw, Crystal Brooks, Stephanie Cusyck, Danielle Gilbert, Carly Hewitt, Cassandra Hondro, Sara Johnston, Cassidy Jones, Marissa Kelly, Cayla Knopp, Cheyenne Malone, Elizabeth O’Gorman, Katherine Pecora, Kylie Pelkey, Brittany
Reed, Anne Reynolds, Sarah Reynolds, Ashley Richmond, Deanna Santiago,
and Liz Westcott.