Go to ...
RSS Feed

September 25, 2018

Speedway Track Championships To Be Settled During Race of Champions Weekend

OSWEGO, NY – Oswego Speedway’s year-long Road to the Championship in the Novelis Supermodified and Pathfinder Bank Small Block Super divisions will come down to SUNOCO Race of Champions Weekend at the ‘Steel Palace’ September 13-14.

The Race of Champions is the second oldest consecutively run auto racing event in the United States, second only to the Indianapolis 500.  This year the RoC will not only be highlighted by the Sunoco Modified 200, but Oswego Speedway’s staple divisions will crown their champions across two days.

 Fresh off his fourth career Budweiser International Classic triumph, Supermodified point leader Otto Sitterly looks to secure his seventh Oswego Track Championship on Sunday, September 14 during SUNOCO Race of Champions Weekend.

Fresh off his fourth career Budweiser International Classic triumph, Supermodified point leader Otto Sitterly looks to secure his seventh Oswego Track Championship on Sunday, September 14 during SUNOCO Race of Champions Weekend.

The weekend kicks off for Oswego’s regulars on Saturday, September 13 as the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers join the NEMA Midgets, NEMA Lites, and the RoC Sportsman.

Oswego’s SBS series will contend in a 50-lap, $1,000 to win main event, that will settle all point battles for the entire season.

Driving the Crow Motorsports No. 18, Andrew Schartner has held the SBS point lead all season long, and with a 95 point lead heading into September 13, Schartner will lock up the title by walking through the main gate.

The true battle is shaping up behind Schartner for positions two through five in the championship.

Jack Patrick, Anthony Losurdo, Kreig Heroth, and JJ Andrews are all separated by just 19 points with Patrick, Losurdo, and Heroth all within just one championship point of being in a top three championship position.

While second through fifth is in a tight bunch Barry Kingsley, Jason Simmons, Mike Bruce, Danny Abt, and Josh Kerr are not far behind either in positions six through ten.  From Kingsley to Kerr there is just a 30 point separation, meaning that the point battles are wide open through the field.

Dalton Doyle and Camden Proud currently sit outside of the top ten in the series championship, with a mathematical shot of sliding into the top ten with an invite to walk the stage at the championship banquet in November.

Proud, the 15-year-old rookie from Oswego, will also lock up the Butler Disposal Rookie of the Year title over Jesse Bearup when he fires his engine on September 13.

Unlike the SBS division, the title of track champion in the headline Novelis Supermodified division is wide open with Otto Sitterly, Dave Gruel, Pat Lavery, and Randy Rtiskes all having a mathematical shot at the championship.

The title will be decided on Sunday, September 14 with a 75 lap, $3,000 to win main event running off before the Sunoco Modified 200.

Six-time Speedway track champion Sitterly currently holds a 13 point edge on Gruel for the championship.  With one points paying main event win this season coming on May 24 in the Jim Shampine Memorial, Sitterly is coming off his fourth win in the prestigious Budweiser International Classic 200, looking to cap a dream season with a record tying seventh Supermodified championship.

Should Sitterly come through with the title he will tie Bentley Warren and Jim Shampine on the all-time Supermodified champions list.

Gruel, who held the championship lead briefly in the mid-season, had a rough outing in the Classic, but is looking to rebound at RoC.  Without a main event win this season, a total of ten top ten finishes and five top five runs has been enough consistency to keep Gruel in the race for the title with Sitterly right down to the bitter end.

Lavery and Ritskes complete the top four positions in the championship, each trailing Sitterly by over 45 points.  While mathematically they each have a chance at the title, both would need significant assistance to pull it off.

Two-time Speedway champion Joe Gosek rounds out the top five with David Danzer, Michael Barnes, Joey Payne, Tim Devendorf, and Michael Muldoon in the top ten spots.

Kody Graham is currently just outside the top ten; 20 points from a banquet position come November.

SUNOCO Race of Champions Weekend opens its racing program September 13 with grandstand gates opening at 3:30 p.m. The racing action will start that Saturday at 5 p.m.

Sunday the action continues with grandstand gates opening at 10:15 a.m. and qualifying to hit the Speedway at noon.

The Sunoco Modified 200 is scheduled to take the green flag at 4:15 p.m. on September 14. The 75 lap Novelis Supermodified main will hit the Speedway prior to the 200 lap Modified nightcap.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com or LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’

For more information on Race of Champions Weekend visit online at www.raceofchampions.net

More Stories From Sports

%d bloggers like this: