Stars Shine Bright during Camping World Friday Night Lights

OSWEGO, NY – Racing under the bright-lights returned to NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week this year at Oswego Speedway. Four DIRTcar Racing divisions were in action during the Camping World Friday Night Lights portion of the 45th Annual NAPA Super DIRT Week schedule.

The Big Block Modifieds headlined the evening with 24 drivers adding their name to the starting grid for Sunday’s Bud Light 300. The Sportsman Triple 15s added 12 more cars to the Chevy Performance 75 Championship line-up.

And the 358 Modified Twin 25s filled out 24 more spots for the Riccelli-Northern Salute the Troops 150.

Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modifieds

Camping World Friday Night Lights came to a head almost an hour into Saturday with the culmination of the Super DIRTcar Series Big Block Modified Triple 30s that locked in another 24 spots for Sunday’s Bud Light 300, the flagship of NAPA Auto Parts Super DIRT Week.

On Thursday, the first six spots were sealed during the Big Block Modified Time Trials: Matt Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Justin Haers, Danny Varin, Carey Terrence, and Brett Hearn. All of these drivers ran in the Triple 30s, with Varin and Haers picking up wins, along with $4,000 checks.

But more importantly, four-time Big Block Modified Super DIRT Week Champion Stewart Friesen, who missed the cut in Time Trials (he came in eighth), secured his spot immediately following the top six.


Bud Light 300 Lineup to Date:

1. 9S Matt Sheppard; 2. 39 Tim McCreadie; 3. 3 Justin Haers; 4. 93 Danny Varin; 5. 66x Carey Terrance; 6. 20 Brett Hearn; 7. 44 Stewart Friesen; 8. 43 Keith Flach; 9. 49 Billy Dunn; 10. 99L Larry Wight; 11. 18H Peter Britten; 12. 19 Tim Fuller; 13. 14J Alan Johnson; 14. 35 Frank Cozze; 15. 27J Danny Johnson; 16. 98H Jimmy Phelps; 17. 25R Eric Rudolph; 18. 28P Eldon Payne; 19. 1RJ Ronnie Johnson; 20. 6M Mat Williamson; 21. 7M Mike Maresca; 22. 7X Steve Paine; 23. 42P Pat Ward; 24. 91 Billy Decker; 25. 6H Max McLaughlin; 26. 84 Gary Tomkins; 27. 115 Kenny Tremont Jr; 28. 30 Jamie Mills; 29. 51M Dominick Buffalino; 30. 126 Jeff Strunk; 31.

Non-Qualifiers Race (1st); 32.
Non-Qualifiers Race (2nd); 33.
Non-Qualifiers Race (3rd); 34.
Non-Qualifiers Race (4th); 35.
Non-Qualifiers Race (5th); 36.
Non-Qualifiers Race (6th); 37.

Provisional Position 1; 38. Provisional Position 2; 39. Provisional Position 3; 40. Provisional Position 4; 41.

“Win and Your In” – Fulton Speedway; 42.

Past Champion Provisional

DIRTcar Sportsman Modifieds

The last time Cayuga, NY-native David Marcuccilli raced at Oswego Speedway, it was paved, but that didn’t stop him from recording the fast time in Sportsman time trials in the morning. Marcuccilli was the first driver to enter the track for time trials – with 75 Sportsman cars on deck – and was one of three to record a lap time under 24 seconds.

Time Trial results secured the top six spots in Sunday’s Chevy Performance 75 Championship: David Marcuccilli, Tyler Meeks, Rocky Warner, Kevin Root, Ron Davis III, Ale LaJoie.


The Sportsman class concluded Friday’s program with Triple 15 qualifiers for additional spots on the Chevy Performance 75 Championship lineup.

Brianna Ladouceur became the first woman ever to win a NAPA Super DIRT Week Triple. And Martin Pelletier and Rocky Warner each earned Triple 15 wins as well.


DIRTcar 358 Modifieds

Tim Fuller and Billy Dunn both claimed victories from the pole in twin 25-lap features for the DIRTcar 358 Modified Series during Camping World Friday Night Lights.

Fuller earned the pole for the first 25-lap feature after setting quick time during Thursday’s time trial session, securing him the pole of the Riccelli-Northern Salute the Troops 150 followed by Billy Dunn, Brett Hearn, Matt Sheppard, Marc Johnson, and Carey Terrance.

The Twin 25s nailed down the next 24 spots on that roster.