SUNY Oswego Is StormReady

OSWEGO – The Oswego County Legislature’s Public Safety Committee recognized SUNY Oswego on demonstrating its commitment to emergency preparedness, education and safety, and receiving its StormReady designation from the National Weather Service.

" data-medium-file="" data-large-file="" class="size-medium wp-image-227772" src="" alt="StormReady" width="300" height="130" srcset=" 300w, 150w, 460w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />

Ninety-eight percent of presidentially-declared disasters across the country are weather-related and account for approximately 500 deaths and $15 billion in damages each year.

The NWS StormReady program designates communities, organizations, and other groups that are better prepared to save lives from the onslaught of severe weather through advanced planning and education practices.

Communities across Oswego County are susceptible to a wide variety of severe weather events, during which certain preparedness and communication standards are critical to saving lives.

SUNY Oswego met a series of these standards to earn their NWS StormReady certification and now joins eight other colleges and universities in the state to receive the designation.

Pictured from left are James Karasek, District 22; David M. Holst, District 4; Richard Kline, District 12; Oswego County Emergency Services Program Coordinator Terry Bennett; Committee Chairman James Weatherup; SUNY Oswego Police Chief John Rossi; SUNY Oswego Assistant Police Chief Kevin Velzy; Committee Vice Chairwoman Margaret Kastler, District 1; Frank Castiglia, Jr., District 25; Milferd Potter, District 2; and Tim Stahl, District 20.