SUNY Oswego Ke-Nekt Series To Feature ‘American Song’ Oct. 7

SUNY Oswego’s Ke-Nekt Chamber Music Series will continue with “American Song” at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 7, in the Sheldon Hall ballroom.

The performance will present a range of material from American composers including Aaron Copland, Stephen Foster, Stephen Sondheim, Amy Beach, Louis Moreau Gottschalk and Charles Ives. Some pieces involve poetry arranged to music, including Dylan Thomas’ “Lie still, sleep becalmed” adapted by SUNY Oswego’s Jonathan Shallit.

“Each is a simple celebration of songs generally written for and by native composers and poets,” said Todd Graber, professor and chair of music at SUNY Oswego. “In planning the program, my goal was to explore a variety of interesting and wonderful homegrown compositions written in the last 150 years.”

Visiting artists will include professional bass-baritone Chris Grapentine and pianist Russell Miller of the University of Rochester’s Eastman School of Music. In addition to Graber, a tenor, SUNY Oswego faculty performing will include Trevor Jorgensen on bassoon and pianists Robert Auler and Juan Francisco La Manna.

A pre-concert talk at 7 p.m. will provide some background on the players, poets and composers featured.

The musicians will offer a College Hour concert preview, free and open to the public, at 12:40 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 7, in Room 41 of Tyler Hall.

Tickets to the evening concert cost $15 ($10 for seniors and children, $5 for SUNY Oswego students) and are available through Tyler box office at 312-2141 or Parking is free in campus lots on evenings and weekends.

For more information, visit