SUNY Oswego’s Ward and Stover Honored

CENTREVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) has announced that Oswego State senior men’s basketball forward Hayden Ward (Montauk, N.Y.) and senior women’s basketball forward Meagan Stover (Lake George, N.Y.) have been received ECAC Division III Upstate recognition.

" data-medium-file="" data-large-file="" class="size-thumbnail wp-image-111559" alt="Hayden Ward" src="" width="150" height="210" srcset=" 150w, 300w, 460w, 214w, 1500w" sizes="(max-width: 150px) 100vw, 150px" />
Hayden Ward

Ward was named to the first team for the second straight year, while Stover was selected to the Second Team.

Ward was the top rebounder in the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) with 10.1 boards per game, while averaging 9.6 boards in 27 overall contests. He was the only player in the conference to average a double-double, also finishing sixth in scoring with 18.1 points per contest (18.2 overall average). Ward was named SUNYAC Men’s Basketball Player in back-to-back weeks on December 3 and 10, and was named the SUNYAC Player of the Year.

Ward wrapped up his career with 1,393 points and 892, both of which rank in the top-10 in program history. He has been a First Team All-SUNYAC selection in consecutive seasons, and earned Third Team All-SUNYAC honors his sophomore season.

Meagan Stover
Meagan Stover

Stover averaged 12.2 points, 5.9 rebounds and 2.5 steals in 27 games this season. The forward ranked second on the squad in rebounds per game (5.9) and blocked shots (30), as she led the Lakers to an 18-9 record and their first SUNYAC Semifinal since 2006-07. Stover also posted career highs of 25 points and 14 rebounds in games this year. She was chosen as SUNYAC Player of the Week on December 3, while also becoming the first Laker to be named First Team All-SUNYAC since 2004-05 when Sarah Lombard was selected.

ECAC All-Stars, Players of the Year and Rookies of the Year are eligible if selected as their primary conference’s award winner or all-conference first team selection. The teams and major award winners are voted on by coaches – who were not permitted to vote for their own players – from the ECAC membership.