Tom Sears Jr. Makes Late Charge To Become Sixth Different Modified Winner At Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler
FULTON, NY – What a drive Tom Sears Jr. put on Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway. Sears was a full straightaway behind race leader Roy Bresnahan and looked to be heading to a second place finish. Sears kept chipping away at Bresnahan’s lead and was able to run him down and make the winning pass on lap 31 of the 35 lap feature. With his win, Sears became the sixth different winner in six Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified events run this season.

Other winners on Town Mechanical/ The Effect Group Night were, Ben Wheeler, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Larry Wight, NAPA Late Models, Corey Barker, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Joe Isabell , Mod Lites and Eric M Zirbel, Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Shane Donath out raced Adam Roberts and the rest of the field to lead the opening lap of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature.

With 5 laps complete, Donath opened a few car length advantage over Roy Bresnahan as Dan Vauter, Chris Hile and Matt Hulsizer battled for top-five positions.

By lap 10, Donath and Bresnahan ran nose to tail with Vauter, Hile and Ryan Phelps showing in the top-five before a quick yellow. On the restart, Bresnahan took advantage of the outside, as he blasted into the lead on lap 11.

With 15 laps showing on the scoring tower, Bresnahan built-up a full straightaway advantage over Tom Sears Jr. who moved into second. Donath, Hile and Vauter ran third through fifth.

By lap 20, Bresnahan was still on rails out front, as Sears kept the leader in sight. Hile ran alone in third, with Pat Ward and Donath racing for top-five positions.

With 10 laps to go and no yellows, Bresnahan still maintained his lead, but you could see Sears starting to cut into Bresnahans lead.

Sears finally ran down and passed Bresnahan on lap 31 before the caution flew when early leader Donath sustained heavy front end damage.

Over the remaining laps, Sears was able to pull away for the win followed by Roy Bresnahan, Pat Ward, Billy Decker and Chris Hile to round out the top-five. Tim Sears Jr., Chad Phelps, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney and Ryan Phelps complete the top-ten.

In the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature, Doug Cook bolted out to the early lead as he would lead the opening 5 laps before Ben Wheeler would take the top-spot on lap 6.

By the halfway point, Wheeler would open around a ten-car advantage over Matthew Parkhurst, as Jim Spano, Bob Bennett and Tony Finch II fought for third through fifth.

With 5 laps to go, Wheeler built up a full straightaway lead over Parkhurst.Spano, Finch, Bennett and now Katelyn Kane raced for top finishing spots.

Over the remaining laps, even with a late yellow, nobody had anything for Wheeler as he was the first under the checkers. Parkhurst, Spano, Kane and Finch rounded out the top-five.

In the NAPA Late Models, Rick Miller led the opening 4 laps before Tim Sears Jr. grabbed the top-spot. Larry Wight was able to get around Sears on lap 11 just before Sears broke ending his night. Once in the lead, Wight was able to outdistance Sean Beardsley to the checkers. Rick Miller, Alan Fink and Dale Caswell finished third through fifth.

Corey Barker took the lead on the opening lap of the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice feature and lead every lap for the win. It was Barkers second win of the season. Kris VanNorstrand, Dustin Hanlon, Carl Warren and Kim Stevens finished second through fifth.

Joe Isabell dominated the 15 lap Mod Lite feature leading every lap for the win. Sterling Miller, Mike Mullen, Nick Graziano and Rick Demo chased Isabell across the line.

Eric M Zirbel retook the lead on lap 8 of the 15 lap Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks and then went on to his second win of the season. Colby Herzog, Skip DeGroff, Jacoby Palmateer and  Matt Dawson rounded out the top-five.

This coming Saturday, June 16 Subway and Ingles Performance presents a Father’s Day Evening At The Track. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds as they try to go for seven different feature winners this season.The SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks and Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club will be in action.

Gates will open Saturday night at 5:00 with racing starting at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission is $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger will be admitted FREE to the grandstands.

Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] for all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – TOM SEARS JR., Roy Bresnahan, Pat Ward, Billy Decker, Chris Hile, Tim Sears Jr., Chad Phelps, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney, Ryan Phelps, Chuck Bower, Mike Bowman, Matt Fink, Matt Janzuk, Johnny Hill, Shane Donath, Dan Vauter, Matt Hulsizer, Adam Roberts.

SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – BEN WHEELER, Matthew Parkhurst, Jim Spano, Katelyn Kane, Tony Finch II, Bob Bennett, Billy Clark, Ron Davis III, Beth Schneider, Scott Ford, Matt Emmons, Jeremy Pitcher, Tom Juhl, Andrew Ferguson, Doug Cook, Gregg Carner, Earl Rudy, Greg Kimball, Rocco Leone, Dave Emmons, Sean McCarthy, Jason Occhino, Joe Kline, Jordan Bennett, Tim Schneider, Greg Mrzywka.

(NAPA LATE MODELS 15 LAPS) – LARRY WIGHT, Sean Beardsley, Rick Miller, Alan Fink, Dale Caswell, AJ Kingsley, Steven Coit, Dave Talbot, Gordy Button, Joe Hall, Mike Vaughn, Art Halliday, Rob Mason, Tim Sears Jr..

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – COREY BARKER, Kris VanNorstrand, Dustin Hanlon, Carl Warren, Kim Stevens, Hilary Ward, Gary Hoppins, Dan Keyes, Brandon Ford, Kyle Fink, Nick Krause, Bailey Groves, Brian Harbar.

(MOD LITES 15 LAPS) – JOE ISABELL, Sterling Miller, Mike Mullen, Nick Graziano, Rick Demo, Lowell Zehr, Rob Grzelka, Justin Williams, Sam Usborne, Jeffrey Isabell, Gary Jeffries, Jeremy Isabell, Ricky Yelle.

(PARTS PLUS FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – ERIC M ZIRBEL, Colby Herzog, Skip DeGroff, Jacoby Palmateer, Matt Dawson, Blake Fisher, Mark Johnston, Eric Gates, Keith Zirbel, Irene Skilinski, Jon Shumway.