Volney Elementary School Sixth Grade Promotion Ceremony

“This is a great day to reflect, remember and look ahead,” Volney Principal Jeff Hendrickson told the sixth grade students during Volney Elementary School’s Annual Sixth Grade Promotion and Awards Ceremony. Held on the students’ final day of elementary school, the ceremony was more about beginnings and futures as Principal Hendrickson encouraged the students to embrace learning as a lifelong activity and strive for greatness. Quoting the movie The Curious Case of Benjamin Button he said, “It’s never too late, or in my case too early, to be whoever you want to be… I hope you live a life you’re proud of. If you find that you’re not, I hope you have the strength to start all over again.”

Mrs. Carrie Foster and Mrs. Stephanie Almeter kicked off the awards portion of the ceremony recognizing students for their involvement in band, chorus, and orchestra. Special area teachers presented recognition awards to the following students: Art – Destiny Boiko and Nicholas Reitz; Media Center – Thomas Distin and Madden Rowlee; Music – Adrianne Perry and Keyshon Carver; Physical Education – Cameron Filippi and Abagail Roberge.

Ashli Bartlett and Emily Aubin were presented with the Andrew M. Cuomo Triple C Award for their character, courage and commitment. The State Comptroller Award was given to Joshua Miller and the Robert and Alice Jonas Book Award was presented to Kendra Tryniski.

President’s Education Awards were presented to the following students: Emily Aubin, Ashli Bartlett, Jacob Batchelor, Kara Bricker, Karli Bricker, Kyle Buck, Mallory Clark, Thomas Distin, Kimberly Edwards, Kara Farrands, Brittany Firenze, Natalie Izyk, Dominique Lockwood, Makenzie Loomis, Joshua Miller, Mariah Murrell, Erica Pawlewicz, Nicholas Reitz, Madden Rowlee, Taylor Smithers, and Kendra Tryniski.

A new addition to Volney’s annual ceremony was the Laurence P. LaFrate Memorial Education Fund Award. Mr. LaFrate, a native of Fulton, was an administrator at the Liverpool Central School District for 25 years before he passed away in June 2008. Dubbed the ‘Papa Larry Award’ by his grandchildren, the award was established in his honor to recognize three students in the following areas: academic improvement, social and character development, and artistic talent. The award and a savings bond in the amount of $100 was presented by his daughter Kathleen Verdoliva and his grandchildren Meghan Foster, Sabrina Verdoliva, and Kenneth Verdoliva to: Abagail Roberge for her social and character development; John Russell for his outstanding artistic abilities; and Mara Miller for demonstrating academic improvement.

Other special recognition awards were presented to students in the following areas: safety patrol, attendance, and citizenship.

Principal Hendrickson closed the ceremony with some inspiring words about potential and quoted distance runner Steve Prefontaine saying, “To give anything less than your best is to sacrifice the gift.”

1 Comment

Comments are closed.