Walker Tabbed To Lead Council In 2016

Shawn Walker takes the oath of office as a councilor

Shawn Walker takes the oath of office as a councilor

OSWEGO, NY – At the organizational meeting of the Common Council, Shawn Walker (Fourth Ward) was appointed president of the council.

" data-medium-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-300x209.jpg" data-large-file="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-460x321.jpg" class="size-medium wp-image-183967" src="http://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-300x209.jpg" alt="Shawn Walker takes the oath of office as a councilor" width="300" height="209" srcset="https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-300x209.jpg 300w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-150x105.jpg 150w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-768x536.jpg 768w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker-460x321.jpg 460w, https://oswegocountytoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/council-walker.jpg 1500w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Shawn Walker takes the oath of office as a councilor

Robert Corradino, (freshman Seventh Ward councilor) was named vice president.

The rules of the council state that an additional compensation of $5,000 per year for the council president and $2,500 for the vice president be paid to those two councilors.

As council president, Walker will assume the mayor’s duties in his absence; and, if he becomes incapacitated for any reason, he would take over as the acting mayor.

Robert Corradino is sworn in as a council member.
Robert Corradino is sworn in as a council member.

Eric VanBuren (Sixth Ward) was president last year and Ron Kaplewicz (Former Seventh Ward) was president in 2014.

The rest of the 2016 council includes:

Caitlin Reynolds (First Ward) and Pat McLaughlin (Second Ward) are the two Democrats.

Republicans: Nate Emmons (Third Ward), and John B. Gosek (Fifth Ward).

Among the other resolutions on New Year’s Day:

The councilors approved the Rules of the Common Council and voted to continue having council meetings at 7:30 p.m. on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. Unless it’s a legal holiday and would then be held the following day.

Fifteen minutes prior to each council meeting will be an opportunity for the public to speak.

Three banks were designated as the depositories for public money – JP Morgan Chase and Community Bank, both in Oswego, and M&T Bank (EFC Funding) in Buffalo.

City Chamberlain Deborah Coad was appointed the chief fiscal officer for the city.

The council also adopted regular office hours.

Office hours for the mayor shall be 5:15 to 7 p.m. Mondays and 1 to 6 p.m. Tuesdays and Thursdays.

The following offices shall be open to the public from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday: Assessor, City Chamberlain, City Clerk and Municipal Records, Community Development, City Engineer, Mayor’s Office, Personnel Department, Plumbing Inspector, Purchasing Office, Water Billing Office (in Chamberlain’s Office), Zoning and Planning Office.

The following offices shall be open to the public from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.: Fire Chief’s Office, Police Chief’s Office and the Traffic Office/Police Department.

The following office(s) shall be open from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.: Public Works Department (includes Parks, Recreation and Waterfront).

The following offices shall be open from 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.: Wastewater Treatment Plant, west office; Water Treatment Plant office.

The Animal Control Shelter shall be open from 7 to 11 a.m. for staff only. It will be open to the public from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The council also approved a tax anticipation note for the new year.