Go to ...
RSS Feed

September 20, 2018

Wide Open Field Preparing for 28th annual $10,000 to Win Mr. Novelis Supermodified on August 2

OSWEGO, NY – Since 1987, Oswego Speedway’s $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified main event has highlighted the ‘Steel Palace’ summer schedule, with drivers laying it all on the line for a season changing pay day.

As the 28th edition of this prestigious event nears, the 2014 Novelis Supermodified field is no doubt wide open, with several drivers believing they could lay claim to the 10K.

Fresh off his first top five finish of 2014, Keith Shampine joins a cast of Novelis Supermodified competitors in search of $10,000 at Oswego Speedway on August 2.

Fresh off his first top five finish of 2014, Keith Shampine joins a cast of Novelis Supermodified competitors in search of $10,000 at Oswego Speedway on August 2.

A total of 14 different drivers have had the honor of being Mr. Supermodified in the past, with three previous winners expected to be in the field come August 2 including Otto Sitterly, Kody Graham, and Ray Graham.

Sitterly and Ray Graham, each two-time winners of the $10,000 shootout, are part of an elite list of multiple winners including the all-time Mr. Supermodified Mike Ordway, Greg Furlong, Mike Muldoon, Pat Abold, Bob Goutermout, and Bob Magner.

Kody Graham, 2012’s Mr. Supermodified, made himself the fourth different driver to make his first career Supermodified victory at Oswego worth $10,000.  Gene Lee Gibson and Mike Muldoon were the first two drivers to turn that trick in the first two Mr. Supermodified events in 1987 and 1988, followed by Tim Gareau in 1997.

While previous champions are always a threat to repeat, the true story lies in the list of drivers knocking on the door step of victory, not just in the $10,000 Mr. Supermodified itself, but at Oswego in general.

In Oswego’s Summer Championship contended on July 19, which saw ‘Rapid’ Randy Ritskes race to his third win of the season, drivers finishing second through sixth in the final run down had never visited victory lane at Oswego in a Supermodified.

Tim Devendorf, Dan Connors Jr., Keith Shampine, Brian Sweeney, and Michael Muldoon chased Ritskes to the stripe last week, with great performances on the eve of next weekend’s $10,000 special.

Each of those drivers can enter the pit area on August 2 knowing they too have a shot at victory.

Add to that list, previous Oswego winners yet to claim the Mr. Supermodified title.

Most are surprised to realize that this season’s Grand Prix champion, Joe Gosek, has never driven to victory in the Mr. Supermodified main.  With nine top five finishes in the summer title event, Gosek leads all drivers in top fives without a victory.

Ed Bellinger Jr., Bentley Warren, and Bob Bond follow Gosek with five top five finishes and no Mr. Supermodified title.

While it has yet to be announced, most expect Bond to be in action yet again in search of a $10,000 pay day come August 2.  With two podium finishes this season, including a runner-up to Gosek in the Fourth of July Grand Prix, Bond will look to add to his list of increased pay days in the last year which includes a $15,000 cashed check for winning the 2013 edition of the Budweiser International Classic 200.

Like Gosek and Bond, Ritskes is a multi-event winner yet to be called Mr. Supermodified.  Most believe, with three main event wins already in 2014, the 28th running of the Mr. Supermodified may be Ritskes’ best shot at taking home the gold.

Current championship point leader Dave Gruel, Pat Lavery, Michael Barnes, David Danzer, Joey Payne, Tim Snyder, and Shaun Gosselin join the growing list of Supermodified winners with more than a good chance of claiming $10,000 come August 2.

Fans can reserve seats today for next weekend’s $10,000 to win Mr. Novelis Supermodified presented by Davis Bros. Inc. by calling the Speedway’s main box office at (315) 342-0646.

General admission seating is available for only $20 on August 2 with padded reserved seating for $25.  Pit admission is $35 with VIP seating available for $90.

For more information on Oswego Speedway visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com or LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.  Those interested in Speedway video programming online can subscribe to the Speedway’s YouTube Channel, ‘OswegoSpeedwayOnline’.

$10,000 to Win Mr. Novelis Supermodified Win Totals:

Mike Ordway: 6 (’90, ’91, ’93, ’02, ’03, ’04)
Greg Furlong: 3 (’01, ’05, ’07)
Mike Muldoon: 2 (’88, ’98)
Pat Abold: 2 (’92, ’96)
Bob Goutermout: 2 (’99, ’00)
Otto Sitterly: 2 (’06, ’13)
Bob Magner: 2 (’08, ’09)
Ray Graham: 2 (’10, ’11)
Gene Lee Gibson: 1 (’87)
Doug Heveron: 1 (’89)
Steve Gioia Jr.: 1 (’94)
Doug Didero: 1 (’95)
Tim Gareau: 1 (’97)
Kody Graham: 1 (’12)

More Stories From Sports

%d bloggers like this: