Willy Decker Leads From Green To Checker At Brewerton

(By Dave Medler) – On a night honoring the Fink Family, Willy Decker out of Vernon, NY took advantage of a front row starting spot to lead from green to checker in the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified Feature.

For Decker a former Track Champion, it was his first win of the 2010 season at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”.

Other winners on Colosse Cheese Store Night were, Dale Caswell NAPA Late Models, Rob Keller IMCA Modifieds, Doug Williams Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Stephen Denton Four-Cylinder Super Stocks.

Willy Decker outraced Johnny Hill from the front row to lead the opening lap of the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified Feature.

The first yellow of the race would fly on lap 7 when Shawn Donath made hard contact with the front straight wall with the right side of his car. After a trip to the pits he would return.

At the 10 lap mark Decker was still out front as he opened some distance on the rest of the field. Mike Bowman, Hill and Jason Rood ran in a tight pack for 2nd with Ryan Phelps running fifth.

With 15 laps showing on the SUNY Canton scoring tower Decker was on cruise control running the cushion, Bowman was a couple lengths back trying to keep pace. Hill, Pat Ward, Rood and Phelps ran nose to tail and side by side for third through sixth.
Chuck Bower would catch a implement tire in turn two collecting Jim Witko to bring out a caution on lap 24 erasing the lead Decker had built up. Both Bower and Witko would continue.

On lap 28 Ward moved into 2nd and set his sights on Decker for the remaining laps. Over the final laps Decker would ride the top side as drove away from the field for his first Big Block Modified win of the 2010 season. Pat Ward, Mike Bowman, Ryan Phelps and Billy Decker rounded out the top-five. Michael Storms, Jimmy Phelps, Chuck Bower, Johnny Hill and Jason Rood completed the top-ten.

“We have had some good runs, but we have seemed to have been struggling lately. My hats off to these guys (His crew) they have been busting their butts in the pits every night,” Decker said after parking his own comeracewithus.com/JD Express No.1x in victory lane. I got to thank Kenny; I wish we had his name on the car right now.” Decker will be back in the commercial Roofing No.10 as the motor for the car is out getting work done looking for more horsepower.

“It helped starting outside pole on a track like this,” The speedway was tacky and fast in the feature. “I’ve been struggling with this car all year long; hopefully this will turn it around.” Using the cushion Dale Caswell in his new and unpainted Mastersbilt chassis blasted around Alan Fink on lap 7 to grab the lead in the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature.
Over the second half of the race Larry Wight could keep pace with Caswell but never found the speed to get by as Caswell was the first under the checkers. Larry Wight, Gordy Button, Dave Talbot and Harry Halliday rounded out the top-five.

In the 20 lap IMCA Modified feature Rob Keller would grab the lead on a lap 3 restart and was on cruise control most of the race. Over the final laps Keller would hold off Dale Caswell for the narrow win. Kevan Cook, Mike Smith and Brain Evenden finished third through fifth.

Doug Williams would take the top spot early on in the 20 lap Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lite feature from his 6th starting spot. Once out front Williams would park his Dig Safely NY No.811 in victory lane. Justin Crisafulli, Joe Garafolo, Tim Devendorf and Joe Isabell Sr. rounded out the top-five. Stephen Denton grabbed the lead on lap 6 of the 15 lap Four Cylinder Super Stock feature.

From the halfway point to checkers Denton would hold off challenges from Chuck Powelczyk and Claude Hutchings Jr… Jim Money and Keith Shay Rounded out the top-five.

This Friday June 18, Bradco Supply Presents the Jerry Beck Memorial for the IMCA Modifieds. Also on the race card will be the DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds, NAPA Late Models, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Super Stocks.
Adult grandstand admission is $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger FREE with a valid I.D card. Gates open at 5:30 p.m with racing at 7:30 p.m.

Advance sale tickets for the World Of Outlaws Late Model Series presented by NAPA 2nd Annual Dirt Demon 50 are now on sale. Reserved seats in the top three rows of Sections A-P will be priced at $35. Adult general admission tickets will sell for $30 each. Children ages 14 and under tickets will be available for just $10. All pit passes will be priced at $40. Pit passes will only be sold when gates open on race day. No blankets will be allowed down in the grandstand until gates open at 4:30 p.m. Hot laps will start at 6:20 p.m. Late Model time trials will follow at 6:40 p.m. Show time is 7:30 p.m. The Mod Lites will also be in action.

For more information please go on line to www.brewertonspeedway.com. The track office number is 315-668-6906 with the race line reached at 668-RACE. Free parking and overnight camping is also offered for all events.

(DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – WILLY DECKER, Pat Ward, Mike Bowman, Ryan Phelps, Billy Decker, Michael Storms, Jimmy Phelps, Chuck Bower, Johnny Hill, Jason Rood, Matt Sheppard, Rich Scagliotta, Chad Phelps, Chris Hile, Shawn Donath, Larry Wight, Jim Witko, Mike Mahaney, Matt Fink, Tony Steiner, Tim Kerr, and Alan Johnson.

(Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites 20 Laps) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Justin Crisafulli, Joe Garafalo, Tim Devendorf, Jeff Isabell, Andrew Schartner, Clayton Brewer III, Frank Sobotka, Nick Graziano, Rocco Leone, Matt Magner, Mike Muller, Dave Trytek, Sam Usborne, Lowell Zehr, Gary Jeffries, Jim Tuttle, Lisa Thomas, Lorrie Herbert, Kelly Skinner, Brenda Rice, Jeff Herbert, Kyle Fink, Terry Lapham, and Rick Demo.

(NAPA Late Models 20 Laps) -DALE CASWELL, Larry Wight, Gordy Button, Dave Talbot, Harry Halliday, Joe Gwilt, Alan Fink, Tim Sears Jr., Sean Beardsley, and AJ Kingsley.
IMCA Modifieds 20 Laps) – ROB KELLER, Dale Caswell, Kevan Cook, Mike Smith, Brian Evenden, Jeff Cardinale, Mike Jones, Stephen Coit, Becca Eastman, Josh VanTassell, John West, Jason Amidon, Rich Keller, Brandon Carvey, and Jeff Amidon.

(Four Cylinder Super Stocks 15 Laps)-STEPHEN DENTON, Chuck Powelczyk, Claude Hutchings Jr., Jim Money, Keith Shay, Jessica Herbert, Jacob Palmiter, Wendall Washington, Lorraine Powelczyk, Aron Backus, Jerry Herbert, Kevin Hendrix, John Goldman, Bill Carista, Sam Carista, Richard Leahey, Sam Curcie, and Brett Johnson.