Willy Decker Uses Last Lap- Last Turn Pass To Beat Matt Sheppard To Win Big Block Modified Feature At The Brewerton Speedway

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY – Willy Decker and Matt Sheppard waged a classic battle over the last 15 laps of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature Friday night at the Brewerton Speedway.

Decker and Sheppard swapped the lead all over the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” keeping the fans on the edge of their seats right down to the checkers. Just when it looked like Sheppard would be heading to the victory, Decker made a huge move on the top of three and four carrying enough speed coming down the front straight to edge Sheppard at the checkers by 0.137 seconds at the finish line.

Other winners on Colosse Cheese Store-Wix Filters 100 Nights Of Racing were, Tim Sears Jr., Sportsman, Kevan Cook, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Doug Williams, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites and Stephen Denton, Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks.

Jim Davis and Brian Murphy led the 26 car starting field down to the green for the start of the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature with Davis grabbing the early advantage.

The first serious incident happened on lap 9 when Alan Johnson got loose in turn one collecting Jimmy Phelps and Peter Britten. Only Britten wasn’t able to continue. On the same caution Gary Tomkins had something break shooting him off turn-three landing on the Jersey barrier causing serious damage to his car.

When the green came back out Davis would lead till the 13th lap when Willy Decker shot by to be scored the new leader on lap 14. Matt Sheppard also got by Davis to take over the 2nd spot setting up a fight to the finish.

A quick yellow on lap 19 would erase the slight advantage Decker built-up setting the stage for the final 15 laps. Davis, Pat O’Brien and Chad Phelps showed in the top-five as the fought for third through fifth.

On lap 22 Sheppard was able to grab the slight advantage at the line over Decker as he looked for his first Brewerton win of the year. Right behind the top-two, Davis, O’Brien and Pat Ward used every inch of the speedway looking for top-five finishes.

Over the last 10 laps Sheppard and Decker fought bumper to bumper and side by side just inches apart with neither having a real advantage. When Dave Farney waved the white flag, Sheppard hugged the bottom as Decker made an all out assault running the top heading into turns three and four. In an all or nothing move exiting turn four, Decker out drag raced Sheppard to the checkers winning by inches at the stripe. AMB scoring showed Decker won by 0.137 seconds at the finish.

Behind the top-two were, Pat Ward, Pat O’Brien and Dale Planck to round out the top-five. Stewart Friesen, Jimmy Phelps, Jim Davis, Ryan Phelps and Alan Johnson completed the top-ten.

After doing the roof dance on his comeracewithus.com, No. 35, Willy Decker talked about his exciting win.

“That brought back memories of a couple years ago with Alan Johnson when I got my first win here. It’s pretty intense running against Matt (Sheppard) he’s a pretty good runner as you can tell by his record. I knew I had to try something I wasn’t going to give up, and here we are,” said an excited and relieved Willy Decker about his first win of the 2011 season.

Decker also related that next week they will be back with a new body on his car that will carry his traditional No.1x and colors.

In the 20 lap Sportsman feature Vermont’s John Scarborough would lead the opening 8 laps before surrendering the lead to Tim Sears Jr… Once out front, Sears showed why he’s one of the best young driving talents on dirt as easily picked up the win in the Sportsman’s maiden voyage of the 2011 season at the Brewerton Speedway. Scarborough, Greg Kimball, Dave Marcuccilli and Sam Reakes III rounded out the top-five.

Rob Keller would set the early pace in the 20 lap Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modified feature. On lap 16, Keller and Kevan Cook were running nose to tail exiting turn two when they got slowed down by a back marker, which allowed Jerry Lobdell Jr. who was running the cushion to go from 3rd and into the lead. On the last lap Cook was able to wrestle the lead away from Lobdell to pick up the victory. Chris Fleming, Mike Wilmont and Brandon Carvey finished third through fifth.

At the start of the season it seemed Doug Williams couldn’t buy a break in the Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites. On Friday night, Williams who started 10th grabbed the lead at the halfway point and went on to win his second 20 lap feature in a row. Jeff Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Jeff Blackburn and Tim Devendorf rounded out the top-five.

In the Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks, the Stephen Denton train kept rolling along as he won his fifth-straight feature in a row. Chuck Powelczyk, Doug Elkins, Wendall Washington and Keith Shay chased Denton across the line.

Next Friday May 27th start your Memorial Day Weekend at the Brewerton Speedway. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution ESDCA Mod Lites, Metalico Four-Cylinder Super Stocks and the long awaited debut of the Sportsman.

Also on Metalico Aluminum Recovery Night, the first 300 kids will receive a free American flag when entering the gates.

Gates will open Friday, May 27th at 5:30 with racing starting at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand.

Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway. Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway). Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFEDS 35 LAPS) – WILLY DECKER, Matt Sheppard, Pat Ward, Pat O’brien, Dale Planck, Stewart Friesen, Jimmy Phelps, Jimmy Davis, Ryan Phelps, Alan Johnson, Dan Vauter, Chad Phelps, Billy Decker, Mike Bowman, Ted Lamb, Mike Mahaney, Rich Scagliotta, Larry Wight, Ryan Bartlett, Chuck Bower, Matt Fink, Jim Witko Jr., Tony Steiner, Peter Britten, Gary Tomkins, Brian Murphy.

(SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – TIM SEARS Jr., John Scarborough, Greg Kimball, Dave Marcuccilli, Sam Reakes III, Mike Prentice, Rob Humphreys, Katelyn Kane, Matt Emmons, Justin Thomson, Alan Fink, Andrew Ferguson, Jeremy Pitcher.

(NATIONWIDE INSURANCE IMCA MODIFIEDS 20 LAPS) – KEVAN COOK, Jerry Lobdell, Chris Fleming, Mike Wilmont, Brandon Carvey, Josh Van Tassell, Brad Weaver, Rich Keller, JJ Courcy, Rob Keller, Lou Levea, Becca Eastman, Mike Jones, Matt Roberts, John West, Jason Amidon, Phil Loosen.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Jeff Isabell, Jeff Isabell Jr., Jeff Blackburn, Tim Devendorf, Clayton Brewer III, Sterling Miller, Mike Mullen, Ricky Yelle, Andrew Schartner, Terry Lapham, Joe Garafolo, Rick Demo, Jeremy Isabell, Sam Usborne, Jeff Herbert, Nick Graziano, Joe Isabell, Chuck Demott, Josh Desantis Jr., Sam Morse, Gary Jeffries, Dave Trytek, Jim Bogett.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION ESDCA MOD LITES B-MAIN 12 LAPS) – CHUCK DEMOTT, Josh Desantis Jr., Tom Walsh, Lowell Zehr, Cody Fleming, Jessica Herbert, Lane Bush, Rick Demo, Lorrie Herbert, Rob Grezelka, Josh Prentice.

(METALICO FOUR-CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – STEPHEN DENTON, Chuck Powelczyk, Doug Elkins, Wendall Washington, Keith Shay,Jim Money, Sam Curcie, Colby Herzog, Chad Dupra, Jake Gagnon, Dan Dupra, Richard Leahey, Sam Carista, Corie Locke, Bill Carista, Lorraine Powelczyk.