Billy Decker Dominates The Field In Winning Big Block Modified Feature At The Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler

FULTON, NY – Billy Decker started twelfth in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway. It only took Decker 15 laps to work his forward and take the lead from Chad Phelps. Once in the lead Decker flexed his muscles as he drove away from the field winning by over seven-seconds in the green to checkers race. With his victory, Decker is now the new point leader over defending track champion Jimmy Phelps.

Other winners on Bombadil’s Tavern, Dig Safely New York Night were, Tim Sears Jr. in the SUNY Canton Sportsman and NAPA Late Models, CJ Castelletti E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Joe Isabell Mod Lites and Jerry Herbert Four Cylinder Stocks.

Chuck Bower raced out to the early lead in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Feature. Bower’s lead was short lived as Chad Phelps using the extreme bottom of the speedway was scored the new leader on the third-lap.

With 10 laps complete Phelps and Bower still showed at the front of the pack, but the fastest car on the track was Billy Decker who had already moved from twelfth and into third spot. Mike Mahaney, Larry Wight and Jimmy Phelps were in a tight battle for top-five spots.

By lap 13 Decker ran down and passed Bower for the runner-up spot. Just two- laps later being hooked up on the top of the track, Decker blasted around Phelps and into the lead.

At the halfway point Decker was starting to pull away as Phelps still ran in second, Bower, Mahaney and Wight still showed in the top-five.

With 10 laps to go Decker was still a rocket putting cars a lap down in rapid fashion while leading by over a full straightaway. Phelps still ran in second, with Bower, Mahaney and Wight still solidly in the top-five.

Over the remaining laps and no yellows to slow the field down, Decker just kept getting quicker winning by a half a track at the finish. The official margin of victory was by 7.508 seconds. Chad Phelps, Mike Mahaney, Larry Wight and Chuck Bower rounded out the top-five.

“We made huge gains in our engine program. Kevin Lamphere and the L J L racing engines are doing a great job. It’s made the difference,” Billy Decker said about his dominating win and the improvement between last season and this season. Decker leads the Fulton Speedway points plus the Super DIRTcar Series and Race Of Champions points.

When asked about his dominating win tonight behind the wheel of his Gypsum Wholesalers, Stadium International Trucks, Integra Racing Shocks, No.91, Bicknell, Decker said, “Scott (Jeffries) and the guys have been working on some stuff. We even learned some stuff from Lightning Larry (Wight) and what he done last week,” Wight won the Big Block Modified Feature at the New Cayuga County Speedway over Matt Sheppard. “We took some of the stuff he was doing and applied it to our race car and it paid dividends tonight.”

In the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman Feature, Michael Teachout, Stewart Garrison and Jordan Bennett all led in the first 13 laps. The class of the field was Tim Sears Jr.. Sears started sixteenth took the lead from Bennett on lap 14 and was never seriously challenged the rest of the way for his second win of the season. Jordan Bennett, Jeremy Pitcher, Greg Mrzywka and Greg Kimball rounded out the top-five.

Gus Schmidt and Dale Caswell led laps in the opening 5 laps of the 20 lap NAPA Late Model Feature. Just like the Sportsman Feature Tim Sears Jr. was the car to beat. Sears took the lead on lap 6 then winning by 2.162 seconds at the checkers over Sean Beardsley. Dale Caswell, Larry Wight and Bodie Bellinger finished third through fifth.

At the beginning of the season CJ Castelletti had never sat behind the wheel of an open wheel car and struggled. What a difference a few weeks makes behind the wheel as Castelletti picked up his first ever E&V Energy Novice Sportsman victory. Scott Ford, Ricky Donovan, Kyle DeMetro and Jim Graham chased Castelletti across the line.

Joe Isabell led every lap of the 12 lap Mod Lite Feature as he out distanced Clayton Brewer III, Justin Crisafulli, Justin Williams, Sam Usborne, Rick Demo, Jamie King and Frank Sobotka.

In the Four Cylinder Stocks Jerry Herbert was the class of the field picking up his third win of the season and maintaining his point lead. Keith Zirbel, Jeff Warner, Skip DeGroff and Eric M Zirbel rounded out the top-five.

This coming Saturday July 9th Universal Metal Works Presents Wix Filters 100 Nights Of Racing Bonus Night. On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Mod Lites, Four Cylinder Stocks and a Kids Poster Contest. The Modified Drivers Triathlon Leg 1 will also be held.

Gates will open at 5:00 with racing at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted free to the grandstand.
Don’t forget to follow Fulton Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter at Brewerton Speedway is also active on both Facebook and Twitter at Please call Cory Reed at 315-668-6906 or [email protected] with any questions.
(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – BILLY DECKER, Chad Phelps, Mike Mahaney, Larry Wight, Chuck Bower, Alan Johnson, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Steve Hulsizer, Roy Bresnahan, Mike Bowman, Jim Witko Jr., Chris Hile, Matt Fink, Shane Donath, Johnny Hill, Joe August Jr., Tim Harris, Mike Ward, Dan Vauter.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – TIM SEARS jR., Jordan Bennett, Jeremy Pitcher, Greg Mrzywka, Greg Kimball, Christine Martin, Gregg Carner, Bob Bennett, Michael Teachout, Stewart Garrison, Katelyn Kane, Sean McCarthy, Doug Cook, Matt Emmons, Jason Occhino, John Juhl, Joe Kline, Andrew Ferguson, Bill Flask, John Wilbur, Tim Schneider, Bob Henry Jr., Josh Blackwell, Billy Clark Jr..
(NAPA LATE MODELS 20 LAPS) – TIM SEARS JR., Sean Beardsley, Dale Caswell, Larry Wight, Bodie Bellinger, Art Halliday, Jason Parkhurst, AJ Kingsley, Gus Schmidt, Steven Coit, Dave Talbot, Mike Vaughn, Brandon Carvey, Alan Fink, Shayne Tenace, Ryan Halliday, Scott Fowler, Brandon Kidd.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – CJ CASTELLETTI, Scott Ford, Ricky Donovan, Kyle DeMetro, Jim Graham, Ron Davis III, Tony Finch II, Bailey Groves.

(MOD LITES 12 LAPS) – JOE ISABELL, Clayton Brewer III, Justin Crisafulli, Justin Williams, Sam Usborne, Rick Demo, Jamie King, Frank Sobotka.

(FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS 20 LAPS) – JERRY HERBERT, Keith Zirbel, Jeff Warner, Skip DeGroff, Eric M Zirbel, Joe Herbert, Mark Johnston, Colby Herzog, David Baker, Eric Gates Jr., Terry Royce, Rolland Fisk.