Laker Basketball Dominates SUNYAC Awards

FREDONIA, N.Y. – Oswego State seniors Chad Burridge and Sean Michele along with junior Hayden Ward have been named to the All-State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Men’s Basketball teams as voted on by the league’s coaches.

Burridge was chosen as the SUNYAC Player of the Year for the second straight year and named to the First Team where he was joined by Ward.

Michele was named to the Second Team, while first-year head coach Jason Leone was named SUNYAC Coach of the Year.

Burridge, a native of Hannibal, averaged 16.4 points and 7.4 rebounds in 18 conference games helping guide the Lakers to an undefeated conference record.  He posted a league-best 44 blocks and shot 54.0 percent from the field.  After helping the team to its first SUNYAC Championship since 1965, Burridge was named the SUNYAC Tournament Most Valuable Player. Burridge is the first Oswego State men’s basketball player to win back-to-back Player of the Year awards.

Ward, a native of Montauk, N.Y., averaged 16.0 points and a conference-leading 8.9 rebounds in 18 games en route to recording eight double-doubles, while shooting 50.8 percent from the field.  Overall, Ward leads the team in rebounding with 251 boards and is second in scoring with 440 points on the season.  He was also named to the SUNYAC All-Tournament Team after finishing with 24 points and 13 rebounds in the championship game.

Michele, an East Rochester native and Second Team selection, averaged 10.1 points per game for Oswego State in 18 league contests and led the conference with 4.9 assists a game, and a 2.47 assist-to-turnover ratio.  Michele also paced the SUNYAC in three-point shooting with a 54.4 percent.

In his first season at the Lakers’ helm, Leone guided Oswego State an unblemished conference record of 18-0 en route to earning the No.1 seed in the conference tournament for the second straight year.

Oswego State earned its first SUNYAC title since 1965 to clinch an automatic bid into the NCAA tournament for the second time in program history, where the Lakers will face Endicott (20-8) in the first round.  Leone, a Syracuse native, is the fourth Laker coach to earn SUNYAC Coach of the Year recognition joining Adam Stockwell (2011), Kevin Broderick (1998), and Paul Callaghan (1986).