Memorial Day Salute Parade Awards Announced

FULTON, NY – The Fulton Memorial Day Salute Parade Committee announces the judges’ awards for Saturday’s parade.

The theme for the 32nd Annual Memorial Day Parade was “America, United We Stand.”

Based upon this theme, the judges chose several groups in the parade that best represented this year’s theme.

Zachary Menter, parade chairman, announced the following judge’s decisions.

The winner of The Grand Marshal Award for the most patriotic and interesting group was the Fulton Polish Home. Their colorful two-piece float, with horses and a polka band, was elegantly decorated and gave a very positive patriotic message to the audience and the parade judges.

A parade is music, with bands of different sizes and sounds.

The Best Music Trophy was awarded to The Island Band, with its funky outfits and polished musical sound.

Oswego Industries won the Theme Trophy. This group met all aspects of the parade theme of “America, United We Stand.”

There are always a large number of children’s groups in the parade, so the parade committee awards three trophies in the category of Children’s Groups.

The first place in the Children Awards was awarded to the Off Broadway Dance Studio.  Their dance routine and their beautiful float was second to none.

Second place went to N and N Studio and Dance, a new dance group in the area.

Third place went to the Boy Scout Group Troop 715.

Three trophies are given by the Fulton Veterans’ Council for which veterans’ groups and active military are eligible.

Winning first place in the group was the Grand Marshal.

Winning second place was the Fort Drum Color Guard and taking third place was the FVC Color Guard.
The judges for the parade were the presidents of the four Fulton Service Clubs and a member of our local Veterans’ Council.

Representing the president of the Fulton Rotary Sunrise Club was Carol Vescio, along with Kiwanis President Brenda Niver, Noon Rotary president Charrise Kidd and Lions President Dave Dingman.

Donna Kestner, director of the Oswego County Veterans Service Agency, was the representative from the Veterans’ Council.

The announcing of all the parade units was handled by Daryl Thomas from B104.7 and  Menter.

The parade was kicked off by the singing of the National Anthem by G. Ray Bodley High School student Alexis Palewicz.

Diane Sokolowski was in charge of hospitality in the judging/announcing area.

The parade chairperson was Menter and parade stewards were: Cathy Trowbridge, Robbin Griffin, Billie Griffin, Mike Schroeder, Mike DeLorme, Ellen Gaffney, Kelly Barkley, Heidi Webb, Fred Aldrich, Steve Young and grandson, Ron Browning, Tracie Pluff-Gioia, Jim Schreck, Michelle Stanard and friend, Rob Kidd, Steve Manno and Kevin Michaels.

The Memorial Day Salute Committee is made up of the presidents of the four Fulton Service Clubs: Patrick Waite, Sunrise Rotary; Charrise Kidd, Noon Rotary; Brenda Niver, Kiwanis;and Dave Dingman, Lions – along with Tom Mirabito, John Kruk and Sandy Farrands from the Kiwanis Club, Carol Vescio and Peggy Donnelly from the Fulton Sunrise Rotary Club, Carl Nylen from the Fulton Lions Club, Zach Menter, Judy Young and Dick Kemmis from the Fulton Noon Rotary Club, Larry Macner from the Fulton Veterans’ Council,  along with Jim Myers and Cathy Trowbridge.

This year’s Memorial Day Salute chairman was Macner, secretary was Nylen and Mirabito served as treasurer.