Newest Oswego High School Honor Society Inductees Welcomed

“On behalf of the Oswego City School District Board of Education and myself, we are honored to be here to celebrate this special day for our newest inductees to the National Honor Society Oswego High School Owl’s Head Chapter knowing that selection is based on four specific and rigorous pillars: SERVICE, LEADERSHIP, SCHOLARSHIP and CHARACTER,” said Oswego Superintendent of Schools Bill Crist.

Crist was addressing the 48 newest members of the National Honor Society Owl’s Head Chapter in a May 3 ceremony in the Ralph M. Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts.

The newest members of the Oswego High School National Honor Society gathered for the annual photo.
The newest members of the Oswego High School National Honor Society gathered for the annual photo.

Families, friends and members of the Oswego Board of Education joined the celebration along with Superintendent of Schools Crist, Oswego High School Executive Principal Brian Hartwell and long time National Honor Society advisor Michael McCrobie. Also participating in the induction ceremony were Owl’s Head Chapter officers President Ryan Patrick, Vice-President Sarah Gosek, Secretary Victoria Frazier and Treasurer Paul Bradshaw.

Addressing the inductees, Hartwell said.”When I reflect upon ‘What is Right with Oswego High School?’ the answer is leadership of our best and brightest.”

Hartwell continued, “Your accomplishments, coupled with your commitment and character makes us all very proud. As you reflect upon your journey to this point I am sure that you will recall many exceptional teachers that made a lasting impression on you. When offering thanks to those that have helped you along the way, be sure not to forget your parents. This is a compilation of many years of education and certainly a proud day for all of us. It is vital, however, to remember that the first teachers you ever had are your parents or guardians who have devoted their lives to you. They were your first teachers and your teachers for life.”

Superintendent Crist and Principal Hartwell welcomed the inductees.

The newest members of the National Honor Society includes Nina Alcasid, Pauline Alejandro, Abigail Allen, Emma Atkins, Erica Atkins, Elizabeth Baker, Danielle Benigno, Tati Berkley, Lucas Boshart, Julia Capone, Jacob Cary, Cody Cheeley, Kyle Collins, Madison Collins, Kerrigan Cummins, Lauren Daniels, Evan Davis, Samantha Davis, Caroline Dougherty, Garrett Dunsmoor, Olivia Farden, Hannah Fitzgerald, Alena Fresch and Holly Gilbert.

Also inducted were Ariana Gilbert, Mallory Gordon, Nathaniel Harrington, Sarah Hoefer, Cassandra Hondro, Frederick Johnson, Ryan Kearns, Sydney Knight, Julia Kon, Molly Malone, Ryan Martin, Caitlyn McRae, Emily Mills, Allison Moshier, Morgan Mulkerin, Elizabeth O’Gorman, Monica Randall, Jessica Reynolds, Elizabeth Scott, Garrett Skinner, Tara Stacy, Brandon Tracz and Jhannine Verceles.

Superintendent of School Crist noted, “I’m proud to stand before you today as your Superintendent. I am honored to be invited to such a momentous celebration, and I’m comforted to know that each of you represent our future – a positive future full of responsibility and promise, guided by LEADERSHIP, SCHOLARSHIP, SERVICE and CHARACTER. Use these pillars as your guiding light reminded today by each illuminated candle.

Continuing the Superintendent of Schools said, “I challenge all of you to value the people with whom you interact and to value your actions, choices and decision. Be proud of this distinction, be humbled by this acknowledgement, and be productive as you strive for excellence and set an example throughout your life. You will be measured by the life lessons learned, the examples you will set as a result of those lessons, and the respect that you will earn.“

National Honor Society advisor Michael McCrobie was experiencing his final induction ceremony.  Though he was proud of the academic accomplishments of the NHS he was also focused on other accomplishments.

McCrobie said, “I would like to brag about the Oswego Chapter of NHS for a minute in hopes of challenging our new inductees to match or exceed these efforts in the future.”

He noted “as a group our chapter has donated  hundreds of dollars from our treasury this year to local causes including Human Concerns, Move-Along Foundation, Broome Country Red Cross, People Against Poverty, Run for Dennis, Becca’s Closet, the Salvation Army, Friends of Oswego County Hospice and the Oswego Public Library in memory of former NHS member Teddy Collins.”

However, donations weren’t limited to local charitable efforts. McCrobie explained, “In our annual direct mail letter writing campaign for our national charity, St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital, our students brought in pledges and donations totaling over $10,000 for the fourth consecutive year.”

Not only have financial contributions been made, but NHS volunteers have helped in everything from youth sports tournaments, to Camp Rainbow of Hope and were guides for OHS frosh orientation as well as some doing overseas mission work.

Hartwell stressed, “While this ceremony is to honor those students who have gone above and beyond in leadership, scholarship, character and service; this is not your finale. No, the certificates, medals and applause are merely the beginning. The commitment and character that you have demonstrated will serve you well as you continue your journey.”

The Superintendent of Schools concluded, “You’re being recognized and we’re celebrating your preparation and persistence toward meeting excellence with these pillars. You’ve made a bold statement about and for yourself through this distinction.”

Continuing he said, “ I’d especially like thank all of our parents, teachers, friends and relatives here today and those in memory for your collective contributions in helping to guide, and teach these young leaders – the Owl’s Head inductees.”