Newest Oswego Middle School Ceremony Inducts 30

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego Middle School National Junior Honor Society conducted its annual induction ceremony recently as 30 students signed the membership book and took the oath.

The NJHS was formed a year ago with two separate ceremonies for the seventh and eighth graders. However, recently the newest inductees were honored at  ceremonies in the Oswego High School Robinson-Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts.

The newest members of the OMS National Junior Honor Society were recognized recently at induction ceremonies at the Richardson-Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts.
The newest members of the OMS National Junior Honor Society were recognized recently at induction ceremonies at the Richardson-Faust Theatre for the Performing Arts.

“Scholarship, leadership, service, character and citizenship” are the pillars of the National Junior Honor Society.

The formation of the OMS National Junior Honor Society was the culmination of a dream of Principal Mary Beth Fierro.

She said, “When I began as principal at OMS I had many ideas for the school for raising as well as recognizing student achievement. One of those has become a reality in starting a chapter of the NJHS. I approached Sue Roik and Danielle Rombough about volunteering as co-advisors for this year and additionally five other faculty members volunteered to be part of the required NJHS Faculty Council.”

Oswego High School National Honor Society President Catherine Wells spoke to the students.

She said, “Selection into this organization is not merely based on grades, but on four pillars: Leadership, Character, Scholarship and Service. Combined, these four pillars form a student of excellence; which is always the goal in our schools of excellence. When you are accepted as a member of the NHS or NJHS, you are held to a higher standard than your peers, and hopefully rise to meet those heightened expectations. I commend all of you for your hard work, I’m happy to see so many students invested in their academics and you are all becoming leaders in your school.”

Inducted as the latest members to the OMS NJHS were Adeline Benjamin, Liam Benjamin, Emily Bradshaw, Grace Bruns, Claudia Chetney, Danielle DelConte, Abby Donahue, Abigail Douglas, Morgan Familo, Laurin Furlong, Samantha Gardner, Kaitlyn Grant, Nicklas Holland, Rose Huang and Dain Jerred.

Also inducted were Lauren Jones, Eleanor Lisec, Matthew Mace, Margo McBrearty, Alaina McMahon, Ben McPherson, Alex Osetek, Allison Pasco, Laurel Plunkett, Leanna Restani, Dakota Sinclair, Kristen Skinner, Zachary Sova, Maddie Swan and Neel Tripathi.

Assisting in the ceremony were chapter president Ben Dafoe, vice president Patrick Dowdle, secretary Lisa Kanbur and treasurer Brandon Meyers along with Oswego High School National Honor Society president Catherine Wells.

Principal Fierro addressed the inductees saying, “Congratulations – this is only the beginning for you – you are leaders amongst your peers and with that leadership comes great responsibility to make well thought out decisions at all times.”

In closing she told her students, “We will watch you with pride as you continue your career at the Oswego Middle School, Oswego High School and beyond. Please take a moment to thank your parents, grandparents and teachers for the support and encouragement they have given you.”

Wells summed up the meaning of  being a member of the National Honor Society by saying, “
As my senior year of high school draws to a close, I’ve found myself looking back on my academic career with nostalgia. I am very glad I joined the National Honor Society two years ago, as its numerous benefits have positively impacted me as a student.”

Continuing she said, “As cheesy as it sounds, being a member and later the president of the National Honor Society helped me become a better person. To the inductees, good luck with the rest of middle school, high school and beyond.”