OMS String Orchestra and Chorus Receive Distinction Awards at Darien Lake Music Festival

OSWEGO, NY – The Oswego Middle School String Orchestra and Chorus traveled to perform and compete at the Darien Lake Music Festival competition recently at Six Flags Darien Lake.

Oswego Middle School String Orchestra
Oswego Middle School String Orchestra

The OMS string orchestra performed three pieces for an enthusiastic audience, which included two judges.

The OMS Orchestra consists of 67 string students and was also joined by four percussionists: Joey Alfieri, Jordan Crapser, Emmalee French, and Alyssa Morley.

The orchestra was awarded an ‘Outstanding with Distinction’ certificate as well as first place in its division for its combined score of 97.85 performing Green Day’s 21st Century Breakdown, March of the Meistersingers, and Serengeti Dreams.

This is the OMS Orchestra’s 11th first place win in the 16 years that the orchestra has been attending this competition.

Some of the judges’ comments included: ‘… the orchestra performed with a beautiful, broad sound, very regal with great musicality. This group has a very mature sound and approach not usually heard at the middle school level.’

The orchestra received high scores in almost every category considered, such as: effect, style, expression, musicality, intonation, balance, technique and tone.

Oswego Middle School Chorus
Oswego Middle School Chorus

The OMS Chorus had a successful performance as well, earning third place and reaching the “Outstanding with Distinction” level with a score of 95.5.

This was one of the largest choirs brought to the competition with nearly 130 members of the chorus traveling to the competition.

The chorus performed a diverse program including “Seize the Day” from the movie-musical “Newsies,”the traditional Irish “Danny Boy” and “21 Guns.”

The judges commented on the group’s full, balanced sound and excellent tone quality.  They were impressed with the group’s focus and solid Baritone section.

Soloists Andrew Bornheimer and Olivia Rando were recognized as “Outstanding Middle School Soloists.”

After the performance, the students enjoyed a fun-filled day in the park culminating with the awards assembly where they were presented with their certificates of an Outstanding  with – Distinction rating and their plaques.

Chorus director Paul Brewster and orchestra director Debbie Mazurek said they were  very proud of their students not only for their performances, but for representing Oswego with their excellent behavior, supportive character and teamwork. The goal is excellence on every level, and the Oswego Middle School Chorus and String Orchestra students achieved that.

OMS orchestra students:

James Abbott, Alyssa Adner, Joey Alfieri, Lauren Beall, Kirsten Bell, Liam Brown, Elizabeth Bush, Nolan Busch, Grayson Cary, Sarah Casaletta, Mason Cass, Jake Chetney, Melissa Chun, Josh Collett, Felicity Couch, Victoria Crisafulli, Airyona Croci, Savanna DeLong, Nelson DiGregorio, Cierra Dunning, Molly Fitzgibbons, Emmalee French, Jenna Garcia, Miranda Gilbert, Dan Gosselin, Stephen Greene, Sophia Griffiths, Hannah Hauser, Olivia Henderson, Hannah Holland, Mitchell Hudson, Ruhma Khawaja, Willow-Su Knapp (cello section leader), Alyssa Lee, Keilaya Leyva, Colin Li, Sofia Loayza, Adam Lofthouse, Morgan Mace, Elyse Maniccia (first violin section leader), Julia May (viola section leader), Alyssa Morley, Andrew Mosbo, Alex Myers, Andrew Noyes, Matthew Oldenburg, Ashley Patterson, Sofia Proano, Hunter Pryor, Alexa Quesnell, Olivia Rando, Hannah Rebello, Marina Regan (second violin section leader), Julia Roman, Tristyn Shortt, Ben Stevens, Heather Susino, Sydney Terpening, Alexander Thorpe, Zoe Ruiz-Torres, Natalia Trapasso, Victoria Tripp, Sierra VanMeter, Stephanie Wagar, Samuel Woods (string bass section leader), Eric Young and Russell Young.

Eighth grade chorus:

Jea Adams, Alyssa Adner, Madeline Armet, Cassandra Barker, Jillian Bartlett, Tia Bevacqua, Randy Bills, Olivia Bivens, Richard Boni, Andrew Bornheimer, Jenna Bradshaw, Janie Brooks, Lauren Bush, Crissa Cabanlig, Raymond Caron, Shae Carter, Alyssa Cheeley, Allison Choate, Alexzandra Conzone, Savanna Delong, Zoey Devoid, Hayley Domicolo, Jillian Dowdle, Huckabee Fitzgerald, Vanessa Flint, Marissa Forger, Maria Foti, Makayla Fragale, Sophia Griffiths, Amber Hammond, Mikayla Hardesty, Jordan Hare, Olivia Hilton, Brianna Hoefer, Cole Hooper, Leah Horn, Hayleigh Hough, Hermes Jimenez, Lara Kanbur, Kaitlyn Kelly, Mya Kinder, Tara Kirwan, Taylor LaDue, Alyssa Lapetino, Alyssa Lee, Sofia Loayza, Liberty McCracken, Shaleen McMahon, Clarissa Miller, Dieonte Parker, Alexis Pero, Derek Putnam, Korrin Rady, Olivia Rando, Abigail Reith, Hannah Rowley, Katherine Shene, Travis Sova, Keyara Storrs, Isabella Thorpe, Liam Tovey, Julianne Verceles, Skylar Wallace, Thomas Wallace, Destiny Whitney and Eric Young.

Seventh grade chorus:

Megan Albright, Damien Allen, Audrey Atkins, Kirsten Bell, Emily Borer, Sara Boyzuck, Lauren Briglin, Grayson Cary, Ezra Clemons, Taylar Clohecy, Carson Colucci, Jade Comstock, Jeremy Crisafulli, Megan DeLong, Sophia DeLorenzo, Cierra  Dunning, Daniel  Emmons, Megan Enos, Katherine Fierro, Molly Fitzgibbons, Gabrielle Flores, Haley Gardner, Miranda Gilbert, Hannah Hauser, Grace Hoffman, Mitchell Hudson, Veronica Jones, Brittany Kaye, Destiny Kelley, Ruhma Khawaja, Angelina Kimpel, Zachary Kingsley, Nichole Lambo, Mia Lamphear, McKenna LaSalle, Robbie Lee, Colin Li, Kathleen McGreevy, Alyssa McLymond, Abigail McPherson, Patsy Milner, Alyssa Morley, Heavenly Morrison-Pike, Amanda Nettles, Deklen O’Connor, Gracelynn O’Connor, Matthew Oldenburg, Nicole Pappa, Estie Proano, Julia Roman, Andie Rose, Rielly Rozyczko, Faith Sams, Heather Susino, Katie Swinson, Gabriela Valentin, Alexis Vivlemore, Kylie Wallace, Mariah Woodward, Jaden Wyman, Zoey Young and Abigail Yurkon.