Oswego County EMS Group Presents Awards for Outstanding Services

Oswego – Emergency medical services providers throughout Oswego County were recognized recently for their outstanding service in 2009 at an annual banquet at the American Foundry in Oswego.

The Oswego County Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC) also expressed appreciation for the major sponsors of the 2010 EMSAC Awards Banquet. Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s), and Uniforms Etc. were Gold Sponsors, while Oswego Health, ECI Physicians Group, Constellation Energy and Entergy Nuclear were recognized as Silver Sponsors.

Guest speaker Ann Gilpin, President and CEO of Oswego Health, lauded emergency service workers for their compassion, dedication and service to the community. She expressed appreciation for their patience while renovations to Oswego Hospital’s Emergency Department continue, and discussed the planned renovations to the Urgent Care Center in Fulton.

Patricia Egan, Director of the Oswego County Emergency Management Office/Emergency Medical Services, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from EMSAC. James Jones, former Vice Chairman of Oswego County EMSAC and now EMS Coordinator for Oswego County, presented the plaque, noting, “Pat’s efforts to improve EMS in Oswego County have yielded huge benefits for EMS providers and the patients they serve. This award recognizes that exceptional effort.”

Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s) was presented with a certificate of special recognition at the request of Oswego Hospital and Oswego Health.

“In the past year, healthcare in Oswego County has changed drastically with the closing of A.L. Lee Memorial Hospital,” hospital officials noted in their letter. “This closure brought many changes for Oswego Health at all levels and services. We can only venture to guess what impact this has had on Oswego County Ambulance. Throughout these changes Oswego County Ambulance has provided professional and expert care to our patients. Zach and his staff have assisted us as we transition the community to a different type of care. “

Eleven awards were presented to EMS providers, four of them to agencies on behalf of their providers whose actions saved a life. Oswego County Ambulance Service received two Life Saving Awards. Oswego Speedway and Oswego City Fire Department received one for their combined efforts on one call, while Donald McFee Ambulance Service received the fourth award.

Norman Wallis Jr., was honored with the EMS Leadership Award. The current chairman of EMSAC, Wallis is also a member of Oswego County CQI (Continuous Quality Improvement) Committee for EMS as well as the regional councils advising EMS in New York State. He is a certified EMS instructor coordinator and an American Heart Association-certified CPR instructor.

“Norm is a mentor to many EMS providers in this county with all the hats he wears,” an EMSAC member said in the nomination for the leadership award.” Previously Director of Operations for SOVAC (Southern Oswego County Ambulance Corps), Wallis recently moved into the same position at NOCA (Northern Oswego County Ambulance).

The DJ Ketcham BLS (Basic Life Support) Provider of the Year Award was presented to Crystal Weigand, EMT-B, of the Oswego Town Volunteer Fire Department, while the ALS (Advanced Life Support) Provider of the Year Award went to George T. Feeney, EMT-P, of Oswego City Fire Department.

Dr. Mohammed Ahmed of Oswego Health received the 2009 Physician of Excellence Award, while Julie Woodruff, RN, of Oswego Health received the RN (Registered Nurse) of Excellence award. Oswego County E-911 Communications Center Telecommunicator Kelly Allen was honored with the EMS Communications Award.

Oswego County Ambulance Service (Menter’s) received the Excellence in STEMI Care Award for the work of their providers, Ryan Maichak, EMT-P, Donald Rockwood, EMT-CC.

The EMSAC Banquet Committee has already begun planning the 2011 event, which will be held during Emergency Medical Services Week. Information on nominations for EMS providers for their efforts during 2010 is available by contacting County EMS Coordinator James Jones at 591-9110.