Ryan Phelps Flips Car in Hot Laps And Then Comes Back To Win The 19th Annual SUNY Canton Hurricane 100

By Dave Medler

BREWERTON, NY – Ryan Phelps night started off on a rough note flipping his car during hot laps doing serious damage to the car with the team almost loading up before the night started. Ryan Phelps father, Roger Phelps, with a lot of help from the team thrashed on the car making repairs in getting the car ready for competition.

All the hard worked paid off as Phelps had a race long battle with Billy Decker, swapping the lead back and forth throughout the most of the 100 lap distance. With 9 laps to go Phelps, behind the wheel of his Big Red Towing, Tracey Road Equipment, No.99, Bicknell was able to pull away from the rest of the field for the popular victory. The win was worth $8,250 plus lap money for Ryan Phelps.

Johnny Hill and Ryan Phelps brought the 31 car starting field down to the green with fourth place starting Billy Decker leading the opening lap of the 19th Annual SUNY Canton 100. Decker’s lead was short lived as Ryan Phelps was able to blast around Decker on lap 3 and into the lead.

By lap 10 Phelps and Decker ran nose to tail and side by side as they were already catching the back of the field. Chuck Bower ran alone in third with Jimmy Davis and Josh Hohenforst showing in the top-five.

From lap 11 to lap 16 Phelps, Decker and Bower ran with a blanket over them just inches apart as they fought in heavy traffic before the caution flew giving them a chance to catch their breath. When the green came back out, Decker was able to wrestle lead back away from Phelps as he tried to run away and hide in the early going.

At the quarter way mark, lap 25, Decker built up a half a straightaway lead as Phelps, Bower, Jimmy Davis and Hohenforst gave chase.

When lap 30 showed on the scoreboard, Decker was still running out front trying to put cars a lap down, this allowed Phelps and Bower to reel Decker in, Davis and Alan Johnson in the Kyle Weiss ride he drove to a second place finish at the Grandview 76er ran fourth and fifth.

On lap 44 Ryan Phelps using the top of the speedway worked his way by Decker retaking the top-spot. Johnson, Bower and Larry Wight kept the leaders in sight as they waged a heavy battle in the top-five.

At the halfway point, Phelps held a slim lead as Decker stayed right with him keeping no lead safe in the race. Johnson, Wight and Bower still showed on the scoring tower with Pat Ward now joining the fray amongst the leaders.

On lap 59 Decker took advantage of back-markers as he was able to bottle up Phelps and retake the top-spot.

The intense battle waged on from lap 60 to lap 70 as Phelps kept hounding Decker finally getting back around him again on lap seventy-one. While that was going on Wight, Ward and Johnson kept fighting for top-spots in the crowd pleasing battles all over the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”.

With 20 laps to go Phelps and Decker were fighting tooth and nail out front with Ward, Willy Decker who started 16th, Johnson and Wight still keeping the leaders within distance and a shot at the win.

A yellow on lap 89 would wipe out the lead Phelps had started to buildup setting up an 11 lap dash to the checkers.

That finial caution was just what Phelps needed as he was able to slowly pull away from the field for the popular win. Pat Ward, Willy Decker, Billy Decker and Matt Sheppard rounded out the top-five. Alan Johnson, Jimmy Davis, Ryan Susice, Larry Wight and Josh Hohenforst completed the top-ten.

Tim Devendorf defended home turf in the Mod Lite feature as drivers from all over including Canada and Delaware showed up to battle the Brewerton regulars. Devendorf took the lead at the drop of the green in was never seriously challenged in the 20 lap distance. Paul Klager, Sterling Miller, Mike Mullen and Joe Garafolo chased Devendorf across the line.

(SUNY CANTON HURRICANE 100) – RYAN PHELPS, Pat Ward, Willy Decker, Billy Decker, Matt Sheppard, Alan Johnson, Jimmy Davis, Ryan Susice, Larry Wight, Josh Hohenforst, Chuck Bower, Kevin Bates, Darwin Greene, Mike Bowman, Chris Busta, Casey Williams, Brian Weaver, Roy Bresnahan, Chad Phelps, Mitch Gibbs, Johnny Hill, Matt Delorenzo, Chris Hile Jason Rood, Chris Mackey, John McClelland, Sammy Martz, Duane Howard, Mike Mahaney, Jimmy Phelps.


(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT $100 HEAT RACE WINNERS) – Jimmy Phelps, Ryan Phelps, Jason Rood, Billy Decker, Jimmy Davis, Johnny Hill.



(MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – TIM DEVENDORF, Paul Klager, Sterling Miller, Mike Mullen, Joe Garafolo, Clayton Brewer III, Lowell Zehr, Gary Jeffries, Shawn Slitter, Jeff Blackburn, Brandon Dennis, Jamie King, Nick Graziano, Matt Magner, Robert Goulding, Ricky Yelle, Dillon Slitter, Ryan Blackburn, Mike Fowler, Terry Lapham, Sam Usborne, Kelly Skinner, Frank Doll, Doug Williams, Russ Brown, Mike Bruce, Jeff Isabell Jr., Zach Babcock.