Sandy Creek Middle School Holds National Junior Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Sandy Creek Middle School’s Chapter of the National Junior Honor Society held a new member induction ceremony on November 23.

" data-medium-file="" data-large-file="" class="size-medium wp-image-158092" src="" alt="Sandy Creek Middle School National Junior Honor Society members are pictured following the induction ceremony of new members." width="300" height="217" srcset=" 300w, 150w, 460w, 413w" sizes="(max-width: 300px) 100vw, 300px" />
Sandy Creek Middle School National Junior Honor Society members are pictured following the induction ceremony of new members.

Despite two previous weather cancellations which forced the weekend date, a large number of family and friends were on hand to welcome the new members into the chapter.

Thirteen members joined the 17 current members, in the prestigious group which recognizes outstanding scholarship, leadership, service, character, and citizenship.

NJHS adviser Susan Gafner shared the history and purpose of the organization and current chapter officers Joseph Metott, Margery Yousey, Sean Hennigan, Mackenzie Lococo, Kennedy Sullivan and Alison Lantry participated in the symbolic candle lighting ceremony which highlighted the character traits that distinguish members of honor society.

Sandy Creek Middle School Principal Carolyn Shirley assisted Gafner in recognizing the new members and lead students in the NJHS Oath.

Current members of the Sandy Creek Central School District NJHS members include: Violet Carkey, Kayla Carnes, Bailey Fahnestock, Abigail Fitzpatrick, Cassondra Hayes, Sean Hennigan, Kalista Kimball, Alison Lantry, Mackenzie Lococo, Carly Lyndaker, Zachary Martin, Joseph Metott, Shelby Miller, Kennedy Sullivan, Samantha Walter, Alexis Wolfe and Margery Yousey.

They welcomed new members: Esther Brafman, Gavin Babcock, Madison Bauer, Madison Brown, Sydney Cook, Riley Dowlearn, Aden Goodnough, Alaina Hathway, Adam Hilton, McKenzie Kwak, Sadie Lurcock, Alexis McNitt and Marley Yerdon.

A reception was held for the students and their families following the ceremony.

National Junior Honor Society was founded in 1929 to recognize outstanding middle level students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship, leadership, character, service and citizenship.