Wight captures first ever Brewerton Speedway win

BREWERTON, NY – June 22,2012 (By Dave Medler) – There were a couple of unknowns coming into Friday night’s racing at the Brewerton Speedway. One of them being, would the speedway have its first repeat winner of the 2012 season? The answer was no. At the end of 35 tough laps, not only did the streak hit eight, there was a first time winner. Larry Wight out of Phoenix, NY can add his name to the record books as a feature winner in the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds.

Wight started 13th in the 26 car field, making the winning pass on lap 21. His drive to the front had fans asking each other if they saw some of the moves he made in his drive to the lead, putting cars a lap down and surviving a late yellow with just two-laps to go to earn the popular victory.

Other winners on AVR Electric Night were, Tim Devendorf, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites, Chuck Powelczyk, Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks and Tyler Walker, Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour.

Rich Scagliotta and Dan Vauter led the 26 car starting field down to the green, with Scagliotta grabbing the early advantage in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature.

With 5 laps in the books, Chuck Bower moved from his third place starting spot to be scored the new narrow leader. Scagliotta, Matt Hulsizer, Roy Bresnahan and Vauter battled for second through fifth just behind the leader.

On lap 10, Bower, running the top, opened a half a straightaway lead as Scagliotta and Hulsizer fought for second and third with Vauter and now Alan Johnson showing in the top-five.

With 15 laps showing on the scoring tower, Bower was still setting a quick pace out front, while behind him, Scagliotta, Larry Wight who was the quickest car on the track, Johnson and Billy Decker were putting on a show fighting for top-five spots.

On lap 16, Wight, with his car everyway but straight on a tough surface Wight moved from 13th at the start, grabbed the runner-up spot, as he set his sights on Bower in the lead.

From lap 16 to lap 20, it was like Wight was shot out of a cannon as he ran down Bower heading into turn three. Exiting turn four, Wight shot from the top of the speedway to the bottom blowing by Bower to be scored the new leader on lap 21.

With 10 laps to go, Wight was in another zip code pulling away, putting lapped cars between himself and the rest of the field. Behind Wight, Bower, Scagliotta, Decker and Johnson raced for top-five spots.

Just when it looked like Wight was going to cruise to easy win, a caution would fly with two laps to go setting up a shootout to the finish, putting Bower, Decker, Scagliotta and Pat Ward right there for a shot at the win.

When the green came back out, Wight was not to be denied as he pulled away for the win. Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Pat Ward and Alan Johnson rounded out the top-five. Roy Bresnahan, Rich Scagliotta, Ryan Phelps, Willy Decker and Matt Hulsizer completed the top-ten.

After exiting his Gypsum Express/Tracey Road Equipment/ NAPA/Industrial Tire Of CNY/Stadium International Trucks/No.99L/Bicknell, Wight talked about his win.

“It feels real good. We started way back in the pack, the track wasn’t what we wanted, but we just setup for the one corner and just said whatever we can do in the next corner, we can see what we can do.”

“We just set the car up for that corner,(turn four) and that end of the track. It just ended up working to our advantage, where everyone would be pretty even in one and two,” said Wight how he was able to make his car work there where others were having a tough time.

“I saw Chuck (Bower) up there and he was pushing pretty bad trying to stay out the ruts. I knew I was pretty good if I could cut across and just skip through,” Wight said about his pass for the lead exiting turn four.

In the 20 lap Beaver River Distribution Mod Lite feature it was a battle between Joe Isabell and Tim Devendorf from lap 13 to the checkers that saw Devendorf pick up his fifth win in five starts this season. Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Gary Jeffries and Nick Graziano finished second through fifth.

Chuck Powelczyk picked up the win in the Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks. Zak Petrie, Jacoby Palmiteer, Joey Delacruz and Sam Curcie chased Powelczyk across the line.

The Original Pizza Logs 600 Sprint Tour made their first of two appearances this season. In their exciting 20 lap feature Tyler Walker picked grabbed the big win over,  Ben Kysor, Keith Granholm, Matt Smith and Megan Allen.

This coming Friday, June 29, Chandler Automotive will present a full night of exciting race action featuring the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Beaver River Distribution Mod Lites and Anchor Bar & Grill Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Gates will open Friday at 5:30 with the first green flag to wave at 7:30. Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger admitted FREE to the grandstands. Pit admission will be $27 competitors/$30 for non-competitors.

In less than a month, Wednesday, July 18 as the 410 Sprint cars will be making their first ever historic visit to the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon”. The UNOH All-Star Sprints will invade the Brewerton Speedway.

Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] with all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting www.brewertonspeedway.com and www.fultonspeedway.com, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at twitter.com/Fultonspeedway and twitter.com/BrewertonSpdway.

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – LARRY WIGHT, Chuck Bower, Billy Decker, Pat Ward, Alan Johnson, Roy Bresnahan, Rich Scagliotta, Ryan Phelps, Willy Decker, Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Peter Britten, Tom Sears Jr., Dan Vauter, Mike Mahaney, Ryan Bartlett, Matt Sheppard, Steve Hulsizer, Tim Harris, Tony Steiner, Robbie Bellinger, Chad Phelps, Matt Fink, Mike Bowman, Jim Witko Jr., Chris Hile.

(BEAVER RIVER DISTRIBUTION MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – TIM DEVENDORF, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Gary Jeffries, Nick Graziano, Matt Magner, Lowell Zehr, Justin Williams, Terry Lapham, Russ Brown, Jim Bogett, Joe Garafolo, Rob Grzelka, Lane Bush, Jim Tuttle, Zach Babcock, Kelly Skinner, Garrett Tuttle, Cody Fleming, Sterling Miller, Lorrie Herbert, Les Baker, Jeff Isabell, Sam Usborne.

(ORIGINAL PIZZA LOGS 600 SPRINT TOUR 20 LAPS) – TYLER WALKER, Ben Kysor, Keith Granholm, Matt Smith, Megan Allen, Nate Hendrix, Kevin Carlson, Hank Stanhope, Clayton Brewer III, Josh Azzi, Tyler Hill, Val Stephens, Alysha Ruggles, A.J Bogino, Darryl Ruggles, Brandyn Griffin, Dan Kuhn, Dan Naegle, Dylan Zacharias, Jeremy Groesup

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – CHUCK POWELCZYK, Zak Petrie, Jacoby Palmiteer, Joey Delacruz, Sam Curcie, Bill Carista, Bill Root, Colby Herzog, Josh Cates-Bishop, Levi Currie, Jessica Redhead, Dan Dupra, Chad Dupra, Jeff Herbert.