Go to ...
RSS Feed

September 23, 2018

All That Jazz Golden For OHS Musicians

OSWEGO, NY – It was a “golden” night for Oswego High School Jazz Ensemble A at the Oneida Jazz Festival.

Recently, the Oswego High School Jazz Ensemble A and B groups traveled to Oneida County to participate in a night of music and came home with several honors.

Director Stephen Defren said, “Both bands had a great performance and we received several awards.”

Adjudicators gave the Jazz Ensemble A an “gold” rating while the Jazz Ensemble B earned a “silver” designation.

Oswego “A” group received the “Best Saxophone Section” as well as “Best Rhythm Section.”

Several students received “All Star’ ratings as Class AAA awards were given to Gina Bartholmew (trumpet), James Debiase (trombone), Michael Gill (trombone), Michael Phillips (bass) and Emily Rumrill (tenor sax).

Class AA awards were presented to Justin Abbott (trombone), Gina Bartholomew (trumpet), Thomas Godfrey (trombone) and Marikate Lamb (guitar).

Performing in the “gold” OHS Jazz Ensemble A were Drake Becksted, Aaron Berlin, Kyrstin Blackburn, Evelyn Horan, Emily King, Jeffrey Murray, Michael Phillips, Katherine Robinson, Emily Rumrill, Alexander Todd, Tory Welsch, Justin Abbott, Gina Bartholomew, James Debiase, Michael Farden, Michael Gill and Anthony Miuccio.

Comprising the “silver’ OHS Jazz Ensemble B were Justin Abbott, Gina Bartholomew, James Debiase, Michael Farden, Michael Gill, Anthony Miuccio, Alexander Carl, Jonathan Cuyler, Seamus Darrow, Paul Gamble, Thomas Godfrey, Paige Gray, Steven Hill, Austin Jackson, Jordan Ketcham, Marikate Lamb, Anne Reynolds, Katherine Schermerhorn and Nicholas Sheary.

Tags: , , ,

More Stories From Community

%d bloggers like this: