Joey Payne Jet Set on Joining the Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing

OSWEGO, NY – The inaugural season of the Shea Concrete Triple Crown Championship Series presented by ASI Racewear takes the green flag on Saturday night at Oswego Speedway and the ‘Jersey Jet’ Joey Payne will be in action driving a former Mike Muldoon machine now owned by west coast racer Don Penix.

Competing in both the Driver of the Year and Supermodified of the Year categories, utilizing the same race car both wing and non-wing, Payne says the TCCS is a welcome addition to the Supermodified community.

“It is a great deal and should bring a new level of excitement to Supermodified racing,” said Payne.  “It is a nice incentive and something I look forward to being a part of.”

Payne has four career Supermodified wins at the Oswego oval and is the current Novelis Supermodified track record holder with a lap of 15.802 seconds at 142.387 mph.

The 1998 winner of the Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Nationals, Payne finished second in the 2003 running of Oswego’s Budweiser International Classic 200 with two other podium finishes coming in 2000 and 2015.

With a habit of top finishes in big time events, Payne has his sights set on the overall prize of $12,000 for winning both portions of the Triple Crown Championship in 2017.

Payne will join Mike Muldoon, Tim Snyder, Keith Shampine, Otto Sitterly, Dave Shullick Jr., Jeff Abold, Dave McKnight, Dave Danzer, Tim Jedrzejek, Joe Gosek, Dave Gruel, and Howard Page as drivers currently eyeing the Bentley Warren Driver of the Year championship.

The Penix Racing No. 14 will join the Supermodifieds of Muldoon Racing, Snyder Racing, Osetek Racing Technologies, Team Abold Racing, Gary Morton Racing, Danzer Racing, Gosek Racing, Gruel Racing, and Page Racing for the right to be called the Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year.

The Shea Concrete Triple Crown Championship Series presented by ASI Racewear will see five non-wing Supermodified events at Oswego Speedway and five wing events on the ISMA tour including races at Lancaster Speedway, Stafford Speedway, Sandusky Speedway, and Star Speedway.

The first race of the series is scheduled to take the green flag this Saturday during Oswego Speedway’s 67th season opener for the non-wing Novelis Supermodifieds.  Racing is set to take the green flag at 5 p.m.

Should weather prevent the running of this weekend’s events at Oswego, the May 13 TCCS event will be rescheduled to June 17.

If interested in helping to support the Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing feel free to contact series promoter Dan Kapuscinski by e-mail at [email protected]m or by phone at (315) 708-7544.

To learn more about Oswego Speedway, visit online at and be sure to visit for more information on the International Supermodified Association.

About the TCCS: The Triple Crown Championship Series of Supermodified Racing, a promotional Supermodified series, was formed by Dan Kapuscinski Motorsports Promotions in conjunction with Oswego Speedway and the International Supermodified Association.

The 10-race joint venture, which helps to provide bonus money for Supermodified drivers and owners, would not be possible without the support of Shea Concrete Products, ASI Racewear, A&P Automotive, Burke’s Do-It-Best Home Centers as well as the support and dedication of the participating TCCS race teams and the loyal Supermodified fan base.

Bentley Warren Driver of the Year Roster: (As of May 12)
Otto Sitterly (Nicotra No. 7, Bodnar No. 96)
Dave Shullick Jr. (Nicotra No. 2, Bodnar No. 95)
Jeff Abold (Abold No. 05)
Dave McKnight (Morton No. 70)
Dave Danzer (Danzer No. 72, Danzer No. 52)
Tim Jedrzejek (Danzer No. 52, Lane No. 97)
Joe Gosek (Gosek Racing No. 00)
Dave Gruel (Gruel Racing No. 50)
Howard Page (Page Racing No. 18)
Keith Shampine (Osetek Racing Technologies No. 55)
Tim Snyder (Snyder Racing No. 0)
Mike Muldoon (Muldoon Racing No. 15)
Joey Payne (Penix Racing No. 14)

Jim Shampine Supermodified of the Year Roster: (As of May 12)
Team Abold Racing No. 05 (Driver- Jeff Abold)
Gary Morton Racing No. 70 (Driver- Dave McKnight)
Danzer Racing No. 52 (Drivers- Dave Danzer, Tim Jedrzejek)
Gosek Racing No. 00 (Driver- Joe Gosek)
Gruel Racing No. 50 (Driver- Dave Gruel)
Page Racing No. 18 (Driver- Howard Page)
Osetek Racing Technologies No. 55 (Driver- Keith Shampine)
Snyder Racing No. 0 (Driver- Tim Snyder)
Muldoon Racing No. 15 (Driver- Mike Muldoon)
Penix Racing No. 14 (Driver- Joey Payne)

Shea Concrete Triple Crown Championship Series presented by ASI Racewear

May 13 – Oswego Speedway 67th Season Opener (Non-Wing) – Rain Date: June 17
June 3 – ISMA Lancaster Speedway (Wing)
June 10 – Oswego Speedway Twin 35’s (Non-Wing)
June 23 – ISMA Stafford Speedway (Wing)
July 1- Oswego Speedway Independence Grand Prix (Non-Wing)
July 22 – Oswego Speedway Mr. Suprermodified (Non-Wing)**
July 28 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Fast 40 (Wing)
July 29 – ISMA Sandusky Speedway Hy-Miler Nationals (Wing)**
September 3 – Oswego Speedway International Classic (Non-Wing)**
September 9 – ISMA Star Speedway Classic (Wing)**
** – Indicates Double Point Shows

Feature Points Only, Oswego 100-point format
Best (3) Non-Wing finishes, combined with best (3) wing finishes count toward (6) race point total