Katko Urges Prompt Review of Entergy-Exelon Agreement to Ensure FitzPatrick Remains Operational

SYRACUSE, NY – In letters sent to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, U.S. Rep. John Katko urged the federal decisionmakers to review the pending agreement to transfer ownership and management of the James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Plant in Scriba from Entergy Corp. to Exelon.

Before the agreement may be finalized, it must first be approved by both federal commissions.

In his letter, Katko noted that a prompt transfer of ownership is critical to keeping FitzPatrick open and operating.

“I join FitzPatrick employees, their families and community leaders throughout Oswego County and Central New York in celebrating the news that FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant will remain open – yet, approval by these federal decisionmakers is the final hurdle in ensuring that the plant remains operational,” he said. ” I’ve urged both the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to act as quickly as practicable in their review of this proposal, and I’m hopeful that they will act swiftly and fairly in doing so. Final approval of this agreement will ensure that that the hundreds of skilled, well-paying jobs remain stable and that FitzPatrick’s reliable, emissions-free generating capacity is maintained.”

Since the announcement earlier this year that the FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant was at risk of closing, Katko has worked with all parties involved, urging the companies, as well as state and local leaders to work towards a solution to keep the plant open.

In his letters, Katko outlines the importance of FitzPatrick to the Central New York region, not only in terms of ensuring economic stability, but also as a dependable source of emissions-free energy and a key part of New York’s plan to dramatically increase the emissions-free portion of the state’s energy mix.

Congressman John Katko represents the 24th Congressional District of New York, which includes all of Onondaga, Cayuga, and Wayne counties and the western portion of Oswego County.

For more information visit http://katko.house.gov or www.facebook.com/RepJohnKatko.