Matt Fink Grabs His First Ever Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified Win At The Fulton Speedway

By Dave Medler
FULTON, NY –  If you were to ask around the pit area, who is the most improved driver so far in the 2012 season, Matt Fink’s name would come out more than once. During the off-season an upgrade in equipment was made and that has made a huge difference so far in the 2012 season.

Saturday night Fink put it all together driving a perfect race holding off furious late challenges from first Mike Bowman and then Mike Mahaney for the win by a mere 0.122 at the finish.

Other winners on Ehrlich Pest Control night were, Jordan Bennett, SUNY Canton Sportsman, Larry Wight, NAPA Late Models, Dan Keyes, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman and Skip DeGroff, Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks.

Shane Donath and Joe August Jr. brought the field down to the green as Donath grabbed the early advantage in the 35 lap Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature. Donath’s lead lasted one circuit as Matt Fink grabbed the top-spot one lap later.

By lap 10, Fink built-up a half a straightaway lead running the cushion as Chris Hile, Mike Bowman, Mike Mahaney and Donath gave chase.

On lap 15, Fink was still clicking off consistent laps, but at this point, Hile started cutting into into Fink’s lead. Bowman, Mahaney and Jim Witko Jr. showed in the top-five.

With 20 laps showing on the scoring tower, Hile and Bowman drew within a couple car lengths of Fink making it an exciting three-way battle for the lead. Mahaney and Witko kept the leaders within sight in the top-five.

A quick yellow would fly with 10 laps to go that would slow down Fink’s rhythm setting up a shootout to the finish.

Over the remaining laps, with battles all over the speedway, first, Bowman would throw everything he had at Fink. Then when it looked like the top had gone away, Mahaney was digging on the bottom on the final lap. With Fink on the top; Mahaney on the bottom, the two would drag race exiting turn four with Fink grabbing the win by 0.122 at the checkers, with Bowman 0.455 behind in third. Chad Phelps and Billy Decker would round out the top-five.

“It feels good; we have been here a long time. Haven’t had a lot of good opportunities like tonight. The track was gorgeous, the car was phenomenal. We just got all the breaks we needed, ” Fink said after exiting his Benwood   Auto Parts, No.15, Big Block Modified in victory lane.

“I think I saw Mike (Mahaney) at the end of the race, we just hit our marks, I don’t think we had much more time. He’s a great competitor as are all these guys. It’s an honor to get a win anytime you can.”

“The car was really good on the top; I just knew if we hit our marks we would probably be okay. Just wanted to make sure I didn’t over drive it the last few laps. The race went by pretty quick thank God. It usually takes forever when you’re out front,” Fink said smiling, after his first ever Fulton Speedway win.

In the 20 lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature, Jason Occhino would lead the first six laps before Ron Davis III would grab the lead when Occhino washed up the track. Once out front Davis would drive away being the first under the checkers. Jordan Bennett, Greg Mrzywka, Gregg Carner and Katelyn Kane finished second through fifth.

At the scales after the feature, Davis would come up light giving the win to Jordan Bennett.

Larry Wight grabbed the lead on lap 3 of the 15 lap NAPA Late Model feature and never looked back for his second win of 2012. Jason Parkhurst, Tim Sears Jr., A.J Kingsley and Rick Miller chased Wight across the line.

Dan Keyes won his first ever 15 lap E&V Energy Sportsman feature Saturday night, as he outran Kyle Fink, Derek Warren, Bailey Groves and Thomas Cook.

Skip DeGroff took the lead on lap 2 of the 15 lap Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stock feature and went on to his second win of the 2012 season. Mark Johnston, Keith Zirbel, Eric M Zirbel and Matt Dawson finished second through fifth.

This coming Saturday, June 2 Oswego County Today.Com and Tucker Auto will present a full night racing on the Fulton “High Banks” featuring the, Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman,Parts Plus Four Cylinder Stocks and the popular One-On-One Spectator races.

Gates will open Saturday night at 5:00 with racing starting at 7:00. Adult grandstand admission is $12 with everyone 18 years old and younger will be admitted FREE to the grandstands.

Any questions about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 638-4056 or by e-mail at [email protected] for all your questions.

Keep up with the tracks throughout the season by visiting and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – MATT FINK, Mike Mahaney, Mike Bowman, Chad Phelps, Billy Decker, Chris Hile, Larry Wight, Jim Witko Jr., Chuck Bower, Pat Ward, Tim Sears Jr., Dan Vauter, Roy Bresnahan, Joe August Jr., Ryan Phelps, Matt Hulsizer, Steve Hulsizer, Shane Donath, Adam Roberts, Tom Sears Jr., Roy Shields.

(SUNY CANTON SPORTSMAN 20 LAPS) – JORDAN BENNETT, Greg Mrzywka, Gregg Carner, Katelyn Kane, Matt Emmons, Rocco Leone, Billy Clark, Scott Ford, Beth Schneider, Tony Finch II, Greg Kimball, Dave Emmons, Sean McCarthy, Tom Juhl, Joe Kline, Justin Lindsey, Andrew Ferguson, Jason Occhino, Matthew Parkhurst, Bob Bennett, Jim Spano, Jeremy Pitcher, Doug Cook, Ben Wheeler, Tim Schneider, Ron Davis III.

(NAPA LATE MODELS 15 LAPS) – LARRY WIGHT, Jason Parkhurst, Tim Sears Jr., A.J Kingsley, Rick Miller, Steven Coit.

(E&V ENERGY NOVICE SPORTSMAN 15 LAPS) – DAN KEYES, Kyle Fink, Derek Warren, Bailey Groves, Thomas Cook, Gary Hoppins, Brandon Ford, Nick Krause, Brian Harber, Dustin Hanlon, Corey Barker.

(PARTS PLUS FOUR CYLINDER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – SKIP DEGROFF, Mark Johnston, Keith Zirbel, Eric M Zirbel, Matt Dawson, Blake Fisher, Dave Baker.