‘Open-Wheel Fall Finals’ Bolsters Oswego’s Fall Championship

OSWEGO, NY – Oswego Speedway announced the addition of the ‘Open-Wheel  Fall Finals’ to the already highly anticipated Fall Championship Weekend set for September 14.

The finals will bring the NEMA Midgets, NEMA Lites, and ATQMRA TQ Midgets together with Oswego’s Novelis Supermodifieds and Pathfinder Bank SBS Series, as they will be competing in extra distance events during the final round of their ‘Road to the Championship.’

 NEMA Midget champion Russ Stoehr circles Oswego's pavement during the series return to the Speedway in August of 2012. (Bill Taylor Photo)
NEMA Midget champion Russ Stoehr circles Oswego’s pavement during the series return to the Speedway in August of 2012. (Bill Taylor Photo)

All five divisions will compete during one night of open-wheel festivities for the same great price announced with the initial Speedway schedule, just $20 with kids 16 and under free.

“After last season’s Fall Championship, it was clear that Oswego’s fan base is hungry for more racing after Classic Weekend,” said Oswego Speedway co-owner John Torrese. “In taking notice of this we felt the time was right to turn the weekend into a celebration of our fans, racers, and open-wheel racing as a whole.  We know times are tight, so we appreciate and thank everyone who makes it out to the Speedway every single weekend, or only once a year. We invite all of you out for the ‘Open-Wheel  Fall Finals’ to watch five incredible open-wheel divisions in one night, for only $20!  Let’s show everyone that paved, short-track, open-wheel racing is alive and well and right in our backyard.”

NEMA made their long awaited return to Oswego Speedway in August of 2012 with Jim Miller taking the win in a green to checkered finish over a quality field of winged-Midget racers.

Miller held off multi-time NEMA Midget champion Russ Stoehr and Oswego Supermodified pilot Jeff Abold for his first win since 2001.

The NEMA speedsters are certainly a sight to be seen on the fast 5/8 mile Oswego pavement, with several racers running in the low 17-second range and a few even breaking the 16-second barrier at over 130 mph.

Joining the NEMA Midgets for the finals will be the NEMA Lites division, which made their first trip to Oswego last August with Ian Cummens making his way to victory lane.

Cummens out-muscled Paul Bigelow and Avery Stoehr in a hotly contested battle, as he drove the Seymour Enterprises machine to the win.

Coming in along with NEMA’s premier divisions to make up the full finals agenda will be the ATQMRA TQ Midgets.

The three-quarter size racecars pack a full-size punch; featuring wheel to wheel action on Oswego’s smaller inside oval.

New Jersey Supermodified ace Joey Payne, who ran to third in the final Novelis Supermodified standings at Oswego in 2012, swept the TQ Midget events at Oswego last season including a triumphant win in the Bud Light TQ Midget Classic during Budweiser International Classic Weekend.

All three of these open-wheel divisions will join Oswego’s regular cast of gladiators as a part of the ‘Open-Wheel Fall Finals,’ that at night’s end will declare track champions in both the Novelis Supermodified and Pathfinder Bank SBS divisions.

Oswego Speedway has not declared a track champion after Budweiser International Classic Weekend since 2005.

However, after bringing back Fall Championship Weekend as a non-point event in 2012, track officials deemed the time to be right to add another ‘Road to the Championship’ event after Classic due to the events subsequent success one year ago.

Last year’s Oswego Speedway track championship battles, which took place on August 18, came right down to the bitter end with only 11-points total separating title contenders in both divisions.

Otto Sitterly would go on to edge Pat Lavery by only five markers in the Novelis Supermodified ranks after Sitterly crashed out of his qualifying heat race.

After being declared track champion, Sitterly went on to claim the Budweiser International Classic 200 as well as the Fall Championship 75.

In the Pathfinder Bank SBS division Kreig Heroth visited victory lane to outlast 2011 champion Mike Bond by only six points for his first career title.

The time table for Fall Championship Weekend featuring the ‘Open-Wheel Fall Finals’ is tentatively set-up as follows.

Pit parking will begin at 10 a.m. on September 14 with hot laps beginning at noon.

The day’s first green flag will fly at 3 p.m.

A rain date of September 15 is also set.

Oswego Speedway racing takes place most Saturday nights throughout the summer from May through September.

For more information visit online at www.oswegospeedway.com, LIKE on Facebook at www.facebook.com/OswegoSpeedway, or FOLLOW on Twitter @OswegoSpeedway.

To purchase season tickets for the 2013 racing season call the Speedway box office.