Oswego Athletic Hall of Fame Announces Newest Class

OSWEGO, NY – The newest members of the Oswego High School Athletic Hall of Fame
will be inducted on April 20.

This “class” continues to recognize those athletes and coaches who have contributed so much to the legacy of sports at Oswego High School.

The Oswego City School District and the Buccaneer Boosters have announced this year’s inductees.

For the first time two teams from the same sport will be inducted as the 1995-96 and 1996-97 state runner up ice hockey teams will become the newest team members of the Hall of Fame.

Both teams earned a berth in the state finals only after performing solidly throughout the regular and post season.

The members of the 1995-96 team included Mark Donabella, Matt Vashaw, Mike Tucker, Matt Von Esch, Mike Foley, Steve Cook, Brendan Coliver, Phil Carroll, Chris Rinaldo, Ben Miller, Ben Perlman, Chris Ackley, Greg Parr, Mark DeSantis, Travis Doty, Pat DeBan, Nate Elliot, Josh Crannell, Erik Cole, Jeremy Knopp and Kevin Jung.

Members of the 1996-97 team included Chris Ackley, Kevin Jung, Phil Carroll, Matt Vashaw, Mark DeSantis, Mike Tucker, Nate Elliott, Greg Parr, Chris Rinaldo, Mike Foley, T.J. Barnes, Dan Farley, Chris Mathes, Derek Carr, Lou Iorizzo, Josh Molinari, Bob Haynes, Mike Fortier, Tris Gillen, Mark Donabella, Steve Cook, Ben Perlman, Travis Doty and Brian Gallagher.

Several outstanding individuals will also take their deserving place as part of this year’s inductees.

The first husband and wife will be inducted as multi-sport and multi-talented athletes Howie McCann and Sherry (Brown) McCann will be present for the induction ceremony.

They were stars in every varsity sport they have participated in with numerous all league
honors as they were not only outstanding athletes, but tremendous leaders.

Deb Miller made her mark in Oswego High School athletics and was widely recognized for her athletic prowess as she was yet another multi-sports athlete who made her mark on the Oswego High School sports legacy.

Erwin “Jeep” Dewey is currently in his 50th year of coaching at Oswego High School and his loyalty, dedication and achievements were recognized with his selection into this year’s hall of fame class.

The late Fran Carl was also chosen for this year’s class he was a forward-center for the basketball team and a football end from 1947-1950.

Inductees will be recognized during halftime of the Oswego High School girls’ varsity lacrosse game at approximately 2:45 p.m. on April 20 at Wilber Field.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for Alexander’s on East First Street in Oswego on April 20.  Doors will open with finger food available along with a cash bar at 5 p.m. and the ceremony to induct the newest members of the Oswego High School Hall of Fame is
scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.

Inductees will be guests of the Buccaneer Boosters.

It is hoped that a large crowd will be on hand to recognize the accomplishments of this year’s class.

Tickets are $25 per person and reservations can be made by contacting the Athletic Office at 341-2019.