Oswego College President Elected Chair-Elect of AASCU Board

Deborah F. Stanley

Deborah F. Stanley

OSWEGO — Deborah F. Stanley, president of SUNY Oswego, was elected chair-elect of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities’ board of directors during the association’s annual meeting on Oct. 27.

She will serve as chair in 2017.

Deborah F. Stanley
Deborah F. Stanley

Stanley just completed a three-year term as secretary-treasurer on the AASCU board, which included service on the board’s executive committee.

“Deborah Stanley’s selection as chair-elect of the AASCU board of directors is a testament to the regard in which she is held by her colleagues,” said AASCU President Muriel Howard. “In her three years on the board as secretary-treasurer, President Stanley has demonstrated her commitment to our mission and values and to the public purpose of public higher education.”

AASCU’s nearly 420 public colleges, universities and systems are located throughout the United States and in Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Campuses range in size from 1,000 students to more than 45,000. Committed to access, these student-focused institutions engage faculty, staff and students with the communities and regions they serve, helping to advance public education, economic development and quality of life.

Stanley said the association brings college and university presidents and chancellors together to support member institutions in their public mission.

“It is an extremely collaborative group, and the span of knowledge and experience collected among my colleagues provides a vast store of insight on significant issues facing public higher education,” she said.

She has served on AASCU’s Millennium Leadership Initiative Steering Committee and as a MLI Mentor. She also has served on AASCU’s Financial Review Task Force, the Council of State Representatives, the investment committee, the committee on international education, the nominating committee, and the committee on policies and purposes.

Among accomplishments during her presidency at Oswego since 1997, Stanley has established the Oswego Guarantee, an unprecedented merit scholarship program, and a capital improvement plan encompassing hundreds of millions of dollars in completed and planned campus renewal projects. She has launched new programs in engineering, the SUNY Oswego Metro Center in downtown Syracuse, and the college’s School of Communication, Media and the Arts.

Among duties of her new position with AASCU as chair-elect, Stanley will serve as the chair of the Council of State Representatives, which is responsible for helping to formulate and recommend the public policy agenda to the association and assist in carrying out the agenda.

The council has a high priority role of observing and providing counsel on state higher education trends and issues.

Stephen M. Jordan, president of Metropolitan State University of Denver and the previous chair-elect, assumed the chair of the AASCU board during the association’s annual meeting.