Oswego State Swimming and Diving Teams Sit In Fifth Place After Day One Of SUNYAC Championships

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The Oswego State men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams finished the first day of the three-day SUNYAC Championships sitting in fifth place each with 96 and 104 points, respectively, on Thursday in Buffalo. The Laker men had three placewinners in the 50 freestyle, while the women’s 400 medley relay finished fourth to set the tone heading into the second day of competition. Geneseo men’s and women’s teams are in first place with 236 and 243.5 points, respectively.

Kyle Lounsberry led the way for Oswego State in the 50 free by touching the wall sixth with a time of 21.95 seconds followed closely by teammate Nick Dupree, who placed seventh with a time of 22.01. Kyle Hoag posted a 15th-place finish in the event after touching the wall in 22.48 seconds. Dupree and Lounsberry were joined by Brandon Hatch and Dereck Harmon as members of the sixth-place 400 medley relay that posted a time of 3:35.86.

The Laker women’s 400 medley relay team shaved more than four seconds off of its preliminary time to record a time of 4:06.15 to finish fourth in the event. Members of the relay included Keriann Earl, Katie Maye, Nikki Dean, and Emily Plummer. Dean also placed sixth in the 500 freestyle with a time of 5:17.39.

Oswego State received solid contributions from its women’s divers in the 3-meter springboard event as Kellie Schieber took sixth after scoring 381.60 points on 11 dives. Chelsea Colton was eighth with 364.45 points, while Rachel Tari finished 15th with 266.15 points.

Other placewinners included Emily Plummer finishing 10th in the 50 freestyle with a time of 25.26 and Andrew Minnick, who finished 14th in the 200 IM with a time of 2:03.41. Alex Coleman-Gridley and Matt Pamlanye placed 12th and 14th, respectively, in the 500 free, as Coleman-Gridley touched the wall in 4:57.27 and Pamlanye posted a time of 4:58.23.

Action continues tomorrow at the Burt Flickinger Athletic Center with preliminaries at 10 a.m. with event finals at 6 p.m.