Photo Finish Gives Chad Phelps His First Ever Fulton Speedway DIRTcar Big Block Modifed Win

FULTON, NY May 29, 2010 (By Dave Medler) – Last week the 35 lap DIRTcar Big Block Modified feature went green to checkers.

Not to be out done, not only did this week’s feature go the distance with no yellows it came down to a photo finish and a first time winner. Chad Phelps out of Mexico, NY held off a furious closing laps challenge from Jimmy Phelps and Jim Witko that came down to AMB scoring (.023 seconds) to decide the winner.

For Chad Phelps it was his first ever DIRTcar Big Block Modified win at Fulton Speedway after many years of competition in the division.

Other winners on Saturday night were, Jeremy Pitcher SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman, Tim Devendorf NAPA Late Models, Joe Harrington E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Doug Williams Mod Lites and Skip DeGroff Gladiators.

Tim Sears and Brian Murphy brought the 25 car DIRTcar Big Block Modified field down to the green flag that saw Murphy grab the early advantage.

With 5 laps showing on the SUNY Canton lap counter Murphy still set the pace as Sears ran alone in second, Mike Mahaney, Chris Hile and Chad Phelps ran third through fifth.

By lap 10 Murphy built up a quarter of a straightaway lead running his best race of the 2010 season. Behind the leader, Sears, Hile, Chad Phelps and Ryan Phelps raced in a tight pack for top-five spots.

With Murphy still leading Hile ran 2nd and started closing the gap on Murphy. Ryan Phelps, Chad Phelps and Sears still showed on the scoring tower.

On lap 21, Chad Phelps ran down Murphy and now ran side by side for the top spot. One lap later running the bottom Phelps would drive by Murphy to be scored the new leader of the race.

When the starter gave the 10 to go sign Murphy using the top of the speedway would once again be shown the leader by inches over Phelps. Ryan Phelps, Hile and now Jimmy Phelps who came from deep in the field joined the fray for the win. Phelps would regain the lead one lap later.

With 6 laps to go Jimmy Phelps moved to 2nd and Jim Witko 3rd, as they set their sights on Chad Phelps to setup a shootout to the finish.

Over the next few laps Jimmy Phelps and Witko threw everything they had at Chad Phelps as he ran a steady race on the bottom from the constant pressure coming down to the white flag lap. On the final lap going into turns three and four, Jimmy Phelps went high on the cushion setting up a drag race to the finish. When they came across the line Chad Phelps won by inches over Jimmy Phelps and Witko. Scoring showed the top three separated by only 0.35 seconds at the checkers. Chris Hile and Matt Sheppard rounded out the top-five.

“To get a win here is just amazing. I can’t say enough about my family and my crew,” said an emotional Chad Phelps after parking his Haun Welding Supply X car in victory lane for the first time in the Big Block Modifieds at Fulton Speedway. “I hope it was a heck of race because I know I was on pins and needles the whole race, you slip up just a little bit they are right there. I saw him (Jimmy Phelps) right there at the end, I just held it down when he flashed me, it was a photo finish. You couldn’t ask for a better guy to race with or a better team. I’m just speechless, this is a place I wanted to win at so bad.” Phelps finished up saying, “You just look at the field here, you have just about every series guy, they do everything right. Let’s just hope we can keep it going.”

Dave Emmons led the opening 3 laps of the 20 lap SUNY Canton DIRTcar Sportsman feature before a yellow flag would slow the pace. On the restart Billy Clark Jr. took advantage of the top side to be scored the new leader on lap four.

At the halfway point Clark still led but he now had company at the front as Jordan Bennett started to challenge Clark for the lead. Emmons, Jeremy Pitcher and Tommy Juhl ran third through fifth.

With less than 5 laps to go Pitcher moved around Bennett and took off after Clark for the feature win. Running the extreme bottom the whole race from the consi, Pitcher took the lead on lap seventeen. Once in the lead Pitcher drove away for his first feature win of the year at Fulton Speedway. Billy Clark, Jordan Bennett, Tommy Juhl and Tim Sears Jr. rounded out the top-five.

Dale Caswell led the opening lap of the 20 lap NAPA Late Model feature before Alan Fink who started 4th would take over the lead on lap two. Once in the lead Fink started showing smoke then flames under the hood that would end his night on lap eight. Tim Devendorf inherited the lead, from there ran a flawless race running the top of the speedway to pick up his first ever NAPA Late Model win. Gordy Button, Gus Schmidt, AJ Kingsley and Lazlo Hollyfeld chased the winner across the line.

Matt Emmons would lead the first 8 laps of the 15 lap E&V Energy Novice Sportsman feature before a yellow flag would slow the pace. On the restart Joe Harrington would drive into the lead. Once in the lead Harrington would put his car in victory lane for the second straight race. Scott Kline, Josh Blackwell, Matt Emmons and Justin Thomson rounded out the top-five.

Doug Williams dominated the first half of the 20 lap Mod Lite feature. Over the second half of the race Williams had to fight off constant challenges from Clayton Brewer III to pick up the win. Lowell Zehr, John Behron and Rocco Leone rounded out the top-five.

Keith Zirbel and Skip DeGroff were the show in the 20 lap Gladiator feature with DeGroff winning by a matter of feet at the finish over Zirbel. Terry Royce, Chris Bonoffski and Eric M Zirbel finished third through fifth.

This coming Saturday June 5th RHF’S–HIDE-AWAY presents Military Appreciation Night featuring DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman, NAPA Late Models, E&V Energy Novice Sportsman, Gladiators plus a special appearance by the Midstate Vintage Stock Car Club. All Military Men And Woman With I.D Admitted Free.Gates open at 5:00 p.m with racing starting at 7:00 p.m. Adult grandstand admission is $12 with anyone 18 years old and younger FREE with a valid I.D card.

For more information please go on line to
The track office number is 315-593-6531 with the race line reached at 668-RACE. The track is located on Route 57 just south of the city limits. Free parking and overnight camping is offered for all regular season events.

DIRTcar Big Block Modifieds 35 Laps) – CHAD PHELPS, Jimmy Phelps, Jim Witko, Chris Hile, Matt Sheppard, Billy Decker, Ryan Phelps, Pat Ward, Chuck Bower, Brian Murphy, Tom Sears Jr., Alan Johnson, Rich Scagliotta, Larry Wight, Roy Bresnahan, Willy Decker, Gary Tomkins, Michael Storms, Dale Planck, Tim Sears, Mike Mahaney, Roy Shields, Johnny Hill, Mike Bowman, and Adam Roberts.

(DIRTcar Sportsman 20 Laps) – JEREMY PITCHER, Billy Clark, Jordan Bennett, Tom Juhl, Tim Sears Jr., Ryan Jordan, Dave Emmons, Rich Townsend, Bob Holland, Jason Parkhurst, Jon Tesoriero, Bob Bennett, Christine Martin, Katelyn Kane, Joe Kline, Jason Occhino, Gregg Kimball, Beth Schneider, Sam Reakes IV, Matt Hulsizer, Tim Schneider, Brandon Hagan, Mike McCarthy, and Gregg Carner.

(NAPA Late Models 20 Laps) – TIM DEVENDORF, Gordy Button, Gus Schmidt, AJ Kingsley, Laslow Hollyfeld, Jim Southard, Larry Wight, Dale Caswell, Joe August Jr., Alan Fink.

(E&V Energy Novice Sportsman 15 Laps) – JOE HARRINGTON, Scott Kline, Josh Blackwell, Matt Emmons, Justin Thomson, Ed McCarthy Jr., Colton Donath, Jim Graham, Jack Morrison.

(Mod Lites 20 Laps) – DOUG WILLIAMS, Clayton Brewer III, Lowell Zehr, John Behron, Rocco Leone, Gary Jeffries, Justin Crisafulli, Matt Magner, Mike Mullen, Nick Graziano, Tim Devendorf, Tom Walsh, Lisa Thomas, Darik Van Epps, Frank Sobotka, Rick Yelle, Jamie King, Sam Usborne, Kyle Fink.

(Gladiators 20 Laps) – SKIP DeGROFF, Keith Zirbel, Terry Royce, Chris Bonoffski, Eric M Zirbel, Josh Zirbel, Jerry Herbert, Joe Herbert, Rollie Fisk, Jamie Radley, Mark Johnston, Les Baker, Dale Fisk.