PULASKI, NY – Among the Pulaski Historical Society Museum’s house exhibits is a display of rare Irvin coverlets from 1853 to 1860.
James Irvin is one of two documented 19th century Jacquard-coverlet weavers in Oswego County.
The historical society is displaying five of the ten known coverlets that Irvin produced in Pulaski using a technique that used a punch card system to create the intricate designs.
The exhibit will be in place until August 15.
In the newly expanded Carriage House, the exhibit “Windows on Main Street” displays photographs and artifacts from Jefferson Street businesses through the years.
There are other on-going exhibits showing farm, factory and family life.
The “cow” is back in its stall and visitors can ponder the “Stained Glass Windows Mystery,” along with other exhibits.
The Pulaski Historical Society is located at 3428 Maple Ave., in the village, across from Cole Muffler/Brake.
The museum is open in June from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Thursdays and from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. on Saturdays.
In July and August, it is also open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Fridays.
There are regular work sessions on Tuesdays from 9 a.m. to noon.
For more information, call 298-4650 or e-mail [email protected]